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SUBJECT: ON-CALL POLICY

PURPOSE: To establish consistent Department policy and procedures on recording time and
compensating employees who are required by management to be in an “on-call” status outside of their
regularly scheduled work hours. This policy will ensure compliance with the Fair Labor Standards
Act, Utah Code 67-19-6.7, and State of Utah Human Resource Management Rules R477-8-10 for
employee reporting of “on-call” time.

POLICY

On-Call Status

Pursuant to State Human Resource Management Rules R477-8-10, employee time is considered “on-
call” time only when an employee is required by management to be available for a call to duty.
Being available means an employee is required by management to be reachable to work during a
specified time frame of coverage for work beyond an employee’s regular work schedule. This
requirement is to be stipulated in writing prior to being considered in “on-call” status consistent with
the “on-call” procedures section of this policy. “On-call” designations shall be documented in the
Utah Performance Management system on an annual basis.

On-Call Compensation Rate
Pursuant to State Human Resource Management Rules R477-8-10, an FLSA non-exempt employee

required by management to be available for “on-call” time will be compensated at a rate of 1 hour for
every 12 hours the employee is “on-call.”

An FLSA exempt employee may be required by management to be available for “on-call” time and
may be compensated at agency discretion, not to exceed a rate of one hour for every 12 hours the
employee is “on-call.” Other rates for FLSA exempt employees may be approved by the DHS
Executive Director, after receiving a rule exception from the DHRM Executive Director.

Recording On-Call Time
Employees record “on-call” time as “on-call” (D8) hours on their State approved bi-weekly electronic

or paper time sheet. “On-call” time recorded is paid out the following pay period. An employee shall
record the hours spent in “on-call” status, and any actual hours worked on the specific date the hours
were incurred, in order to be paid.

An employee may not record “on-call” hours and actual hours worked for the same period of time, as
an employee cannot be ready for a “call to duty” and be “on duty” at the same time. “On-call” hours,
actual hours worked, and leave hours cannot exceed 24 hours in a day.

Hours of “on-call” pay shall be calculated by subtracting the number of hours of actual work
performed during the “on-call” period for each specific calendar day from the number of hours in the
“on-call” period, then dividing the result by 12. An employee shall round the resulting “on-call”
hours to the nearest two decimal places when recording them on the bi-weekly electronic or paper
time sheet.
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Recording Actual Time Worked During the On-Call Period
Per State Human Resource Management Rules R477-8-1(5): “An employee’s time worked shall be

calculated in increments of 15 minutes. This rule incorporates by reference 29 CFR 785.48 for
rounding practices when calculating time worked.”

The same applies for work performed during the “on-call” period. Time actually worked shall be
recorded as “work” hours on the State-approved bi-weekly electronic or paper time sheet.
Compliance with established agency procedures on documentation (such as telephone, other work
time, travel, and case logs) of actual time worked must be completed by the employee prior to
reimbursement for hours worked during the “on-call” period.

Leave Time is Not Recorded as On-Call Time

An employee may not be in an “on-call” status while using leave or while otherwise unable to
respond to a call to duty. An employee on accrued leave or on leave-without-pay on a normal work
day (not a paid holiday) during the employee's normal work hours, is simply on "leave," not "on-call."
If the employee responds to a call or performs work during normal work hours, it is ordinary “work”
hours, not “on-call” time.

Management Designation of On-Call
Management is responsible to decide which employees are needed to work “on-call” and for how

long. Working “on-call” is not an employee right or job entitlement, and management may cancel an
employee “On-Call Agreement” at any time, with or without prior notification to the employee.

Conduct While On-Call

Employees are expected to fully apply themselves to their duties while on-call and when working
during the on-call period. Employees shall comply with the DHS Code of Ethics policy, 02-03, and
all agency policies while on-call. Employees shall not consume alcohol or use illegal substances or
be under the influence of alcohol or illegal substances while on compensated work time or while
treating clients or while on-call or on State property or while operating any vehicle. Employees who
fail to comply with the Code of Ethics and agency policies may be subject to disciplinary action up to
and including dismissal.

PROCEDURES

Procedures for On-Call
It is management's responsibility to complete the following process prior to placing an employee in
“on-call” status:

1. Complete a signed Utah Department of Human Services On-Call Agreement between the
employer/supervisor and employee, based upon management determination that there are



legitimate agency operational needs for “on-call” and stating that the "on-call" designation is not
an employment right or employee job entitlement.

2. Ensure that the employee is aware of the terms of compensation for employee time while in “on-
call” status.
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3. Management is to notify the employee of the specific time frames and number of hours the
employee is to be made available during the “on-call” status period.

4. Determine reasonable time periods for designated “on-call” employees to respond to calls. The
amount of time required by the employer for the employee to respond should take into account
commute distance based upon geographic constraints. Response time allowed is listed on the On-
Call Agreement form.

5. Ensure that the employee is notified when signing the form that he/she may be subject to
disciplinary action for a breach of the Utah Department of Human Services On-Call Agreement.

6. On-call agreements for employees who are placed in “on-call” status must be reviewed for
applicability and signed by the employer/supervisor and employee and documented in the Utah
Performance Management system annually, or when the terms and conditions in the On-Call
Agreement warrant change.

7. Monitor the use of “on-call” including determining the frequency of calls per employee.

Calling Employees Back to Work That Are Not In On-Call Status

Employees who are not in “on-call” status but have been called back to work by management are not
eligible for nor entitled to “on-call” time compensation. To be eligible for “on-call” compensation,
employees must have previously completed a Utah Department of Human Services On-Call
Agreement and have been required by management to be in an "on-call" status at the time they are
called back to work.

Voluntary Reachability

An employee who voluntarily agrees to be reachable is not considered in an “on-call” status. This
includes an employee who is provided state issued equipment such as a cellular phone or other means
of communication.

State Issued Communication Equipment
State issued equipment is provided as a means of communication between the employer and

employee and does not constitute “on-call” status for the employee, or a job requirement to be “on-
call” as a condition of employment.



Documentation
The following procedures shall be used by an employee to record actual time worked during an “on-
call” period.
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Telephone Logs: Each job related telephone call received or initiated by the employee during
the “on-call” time period is to be tracked for actual air time. The air time
minutes of all telephone calls received or initiated by the employee during
the “on-call” time period are to be totaled and rounded up or down to the
nearest fifteen (15) minute increment and recorded as “work” hours.

Other Work Time: Any time an employee actually works during their authorized “on-call”
period is to be totaled at the end of the “on-call” period and rounded up or
down to the nearest fifteen (15) minute increment and recorded as “work”
hours.

Travel Time: Regular commute time to the job and back home is not work time.
However, travel to the job and back home by an employee in response to a
call during an “on-call” period to report back to work is actual work time.

‘,&«M % e DATE: 1/4/2014

Palmer DePaulis, Executive Director
Department of Human Services



UTAH DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
ON-CALL AGREEMENT

Employee Name: EIN:
Division/Office/Institution:
Supervisor Name:

AGREEMENT TERMS & CONDITIONS

I hereby agree to be placed in an “on-call” status with the Department of Human Services and
understand that management has required that I make myself available to return to work or perform
work during management specified days and time frames.

I acknowledge:

1. I'have freedom of movement in personal matters and that I am not being restricted to a specified
location, but have made myself available for a call to duty.

2. TI'will respond to a call, page, or other communication within minutes. If I am
required to report to a specified work site, I will do so within minutes.

3. I'will be compensated at my regular hourly rate for “on-call” time at a rate of 1 hour for every 12
hours that I am in an “on-call” status, minus any actual hours worked. “On-call” time is rounded
to the nearest two decimal places.

4. All “on-call” time accrued is to be recorded on the specific day in which the hours were incurred
on the State approved bi-weekly electronic or paper time sheet for that pay period worked.

5. Any time actually worked during the “on-call” period is recorded in 15 minute increments as
“work” hours in addition to “on-call” time. Any time actually worked is to be recorded on the
State approved bi-weekly electronic or paper time sheet for that pay period.

6. If management arranges for a substitute to cover my “on-call” shift for any reason, I will not be
eligible for “on-call” compensation for that same shift.

7. I'must complete any “on-call” paperwork or electronic documentation as required by
management.

8. Any breach of this agreement, the DHS Code of Ethics, and this policy by the employee may
result in disciplinary action.

9. Designation and placement of an employee “on-call” is a management decision, based on agency
operational needs. It is not an employee right or job entitlement.

10. This agreement may be terminated at any time by management, with or without prior employee
notification.

Employee Signature Date

I authorize the above employee to work “On-Call” as specified in this agreement.

Supervisor Signature Date

Revised: 1/4/2013



