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501  Kinship Services Philosophy, Active Search, And Preferences For 73 

Placement 74 

 75 
 76 
 77 
 78 
 79 
 80 
 81 
 82 
 83 
 84 
Applicable Law 85 
Utah Code Ann. §62A-4a-202.1. Entering home of a child – Taking a child into protective 86 
custody – Caseworker accompanied by peace officer – Preventive services – Shelter facility or 87 
emergency placement. 88 
Utah Code Ann. §62A-4a-209. Emergency placement. 89 
Utah Code Ann. §78A-6-306.  Shelter hearing. 90 
Utah Code Ann. §78A-6-307. Shelter hearing – Placement – DCFS custody. 91 
Utah Code Ann. §78A-6-307.5. Post-shelter hearing placement of a child who is in division 92 
custody. 93 
U.S. Code Title 25, Chapter 21.  Indian Child Welfare. 94 
 95 

501.1  Philosophy 96 

 97 
All children need permanency through enduring relationships that provide stability, familiarity, 98 
and support for the culture of the child; support the child’s sense of self based on existing 99 
attachments; provide for the child’s safety and physical care; and connect the child to their 100 
past, present, and future through continuing family relationships.  First priority is to maintain a 101 
child safely at home.  However, if a child cannot safely remain at home, kinship care has the 102 
potential for providing these elements of permanency by virtue of the kin’s knowledge of and 103 
relationship to the family and child.  104 
 105 
All kinship work is done in the context of a Child and Family Team.  Kinship care includes 106 
elements of child protection, in-home services, family preservation, and foster care.  When a 107 
child cannot safely remain home, kinship care is preferable to other out-of-home placements if 108 
the kinship caregiver can keep the child safe and appropriately meet the child’s needs. 109 

Major objectives: 
A. Child and Family Services will make active efforts to locate potential kinship caregivers 

for placement of a child in agency custody and to build and sustain family connections 
for the child. 

 
B. In selecting a placement for a child in agency custody, preferential consideration will be 

given to a non-custodial parent, relative, or friend of the parent or guardian, as 
established in law, subject to the child’s best interests. 

http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-S202.1.html?v=C62A-4a-S202.1_1800010118000101
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-S209.html?v=C62A-4a-S209_1800010118000101
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title78A/Chapter6/78A-6-S306.html?v=C78A-6-S306_2014040320140513
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title78A/Chapter6/78A-6-S307.html
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title78A/Chapter6/78A-6-S307.5.html
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collectionUScode.action?collectionCode=USCODE&searchPath=Title+25%2FCHAPTER+21&oldPath=Title+25%2FCHAPTER+21&isCollapsed=true&selectedYearFrom=2013&ycord=1432


Utah’s Division of Child and Family Services   
Kinship   
Practice Guidelines  Revised June 2016 
   
 
 

 2 

The caregiver’s willingness and ability to care for and keep the child safe are fundamental.  The 110 
kinship caregiver must have or acquire knowledge of the child, be able to meet the child’s 111 
needs, support reunification efforts, and be able to provide the child access to parents, siblings, 112 
and other family members through visits or caring for the child and siblings as a group. 113 
 114 
Ongoing assessment of the child’s safety, permanence, and well-being is important to the 115 
stability and value of kinship care.  Ongoing assessment of safety is based on the components 116 
of safety decision-making, which include threats of harm, vulnerabilities of the child, and 117 
protective capacities of the kinship caregiver and their support system. 118 
 119 
Providing for kinship care in the Child and Family Services spectrum of services requires active 120 
efforts to identify and locate kin families with whom children may form or continue 121 
relationships at home or in temporary or permanent placements.  Support to kinship caregivers 122 
is essential to the success of the child’s placement with the family and to the family’s ability to 123 
respond to the needs of the child.  As members of the Child and Family Team, kinship caregivers 124 
will seek support from other family members and from informal and formal supports to provide 125 
for the child. 126 
 127 

501.2  Definitions 128 

 129 
A. Friend means an adult the child knows and is comfortable with.  A friend does not meet 130 

the definition of a relative of the child as defined in Utah Code Ann. §78A-6-307, and 131 
may be an extended relative of the child that is not included in the definition of 132 
relative.  An emergency placement may be made with a friend, if one is designated by 133 
the custodial parent or guardian of the child and the friend is [a licensed foster parent or 134 
is]willing to become a licensed foster parent within six months or sooner of the child 135 
being placed with them.  [See: Practice Guidelines Section 502.8.] 136 

 137 
B. Guardian is a person who has been appointed by a judge to take care of a minor child 138 

personally and/or manage that person’s affairs until the child reaches majority at 18 139 
years of age.  The guardian (caregiver or responsible adult) has the authority to consent 140 
to the child’s marriage; enlistment in the armed forces; major medical, surgical, or 141 
psychiatric treatment; and to legal custody, if legal custody is not vested in another 142 
person, agency, or institution.  [See: Utah Code Ann. §78A-6-105.] 143 

 144 
C. Kinship caregiver means a non-custodial parent, [or ]relative, or friend as defined in this 145 

section, who is selected for placement and care of a child in Child and Family Services 146 
custody.  147 

 148 
D. Non-custodial parent is a natural parent as defined in Utah Code Ann. §78A-6-307 who is 149 

a biological or adoptive mother, an adoptive father, or a biological father who was 150 

http://www.le.state.ut.us/xcode/Title78A/Chapter6/78A-6-S307.html?v=C78A-6-S307_2015051220150512
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title78A/Chapter6/78A-6-S105.html?v=C78A-6-S105_2014040320140513
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title78A/Chapter6/78A-6-S307.html
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married to the child’s biological mother at the time the child was conceived or born or 151 
who has had paternity established, and who has not been granted legal custody of the 152 
child. 153 

 154 
E. Preliminary Placement means an out-of-home placement with a non-custodial parent or 155 

relative, or [with]a friend designated by the parent who the child is comfortable with 156 
and who is willing to become licensed as a foster parent [a licensed foster parent, which 157 
is referred to in statute as an emergency placement]as authorized in Utah Code Ann. 158 
§78A-6-307 and §62A-4a-209. 159 

 160 
F. Relative is defined in Utah Code Ann. §78A-6-307 as a relative who is the child’s 161 

“grandparent, great-grandparent, aunt, great-aunt, uncle, great-uncle, brother-in-law, 162 
sister-in-law, stepparent, first cousin, stepsibling, sibling, or the first cousin of the 163 
parent,” or an adult who is an adoptive parent of the child's sibling.  For an Indian child, 164 
relative also includes an “extended family member” as defined by the Indian Child 165 
Welfare Act (ICWA), Title 25, Chapter 21, which is “by the law or custom of the Indian 166 
child’s tribe or, in the absence of such law or custom, will be a person who has reached 167 
the age of eighteen and who is the Indian child’s grandparent, aunt, or uncle, brother or 168 
sister, brother-in-law or sister-in-law, niece or nephew, first or second cousin, or 169 
stepparent.” 170 

 171 

501.3  Diligent Search For Kin And Written Notice 172 

 173 

Federal and state laws require the caseworker to actively search for and provide notification to 174 
kin when a child enters protective custody of Child and Family Services.  Within 30 days of 175 
removal, the caseworker will initiate diligent searches to identify and locate missing parents, 176 
grandparents, relatives, and/or potential kinship caregivers.  The caseworker will work with 177 
designated kin locators or region appointed person to provide them with notice that a child 178 
related to them is in the custody of Child and Family Services.  Efforts to locate kin and to build 179 
and sustain connections for the child will continue during the child’s involvement with Child and 180 
Family Services.   181 
 182 
Caseworker Responsibilities 183 
A. The caseworker will conduct a diligent and reasonable search to locate potential kinship 184 

caregivers (including the child’s non-custodial parent, grandparents, other adult 185 
relatives, adults who are adoptive parents of the child's sibling, or friends willing to care 186 
for the child, by taking as many of the following steps as necessary:   187 
1. Interview the custodial parent or guardian to obtain the names, addresses, and 188 

telephone numbers of all potential kinship caregivers (including adoptive parents 189 
of the child’s siblings) or friends who may be able to provide care for the child, or 190 

http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title78A/Chapter6/78A-6-S307.html
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-S209.html?v=C62A-4a-S209_1800010118000101
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title78A/Chapter6/78A-6-S307.html
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collectionUScode.action?collectionCode=USCODE&searchPath=Title+25%2FCHAPTER+21&oldPath=Title+25%2FCHAPTER+21&isCollapsed=true&selectedYearFrom=2013&ycord=1432
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who may be a resource to a kinship caregiver or friend that will have the child 191 
placed with them. 192 
a. If a custodial parent or guardian objects to Child and Family Services 193 

contacting a potential kinship caregiver, the supervisor and the 194 
caseworker may assess whether to still contact the potential kinship 195 
caregiver by considering the following factors: 196 
(1) If the safety of the child or the custodial parent or guardian will be 197 

jeopardized if the potential kinship caregiver is contacted. 198 
(2) If contacting the potential kinship caregiver is in the best interest 199 

of the child. 200 
(3) If contacting the potential kinship caregiver will substantially limit 201 

Child and Family Services’ ability to work with the custodial parent 202 
or guardian to the detriment of the child. 203 

b. If the custodial parent or guardian is uncooperative in providing the 204 
names of potential kinship caregivers or friends who may have the child 205 
placed with them, the caseworker may contact the Assistant Attorney 206 
General (AAG) to request the court to order the custodial parent to 207 
provide the names of all potential kinship caregivers within five working 208 
days.   209 

2. Interview the child for names, addresses, and telephone numbers of kin or 210 
friends with whom the child is comfortable. 211 

3. The kin locator or region-appointed person will complete diligent searches on 212 
relatives/friends as defined in Utah Code Ann. §78A-6-307 within 30 days of the 213 
removal using approved processes and resources. 214 

[3]4. Ask participants at a Child and Family Team Meeting to help identify other 215 
potential kinship caregivers or friends who may be willing and able to care for 216 
the child. 217 
a. Any friend or relative attending a Child and Family Team Meeting will be 218 

provided with the Notification Letter. 219 
[4]5. Interview known relatives or friends of the child. 220 
[5]6. Conduct a search in SAFE on the parent to determine if the parent has had 221 

previous cases with Child and Family Services where the child has been adopted.  222 
If possible, obtain the contact information of the adoptive parent. 223 

[6]7. As early as possible, contact the Native American tribe’s ICWA caseworker to 224 
request names, telephone numbers, and addresses of possible kin for any 225 
eligible Indian child, then follow-up with tribal placement preferences during 226 
case development. 227 

 228 
B. The caseworker will contact the identified potential kinship caregiver(s) or friends by 229 

telephone, asking if they would like to be considered as a placement for the child, 230 
disclosing only the information necessary to assess their interest and/or to help identify 231 

http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title78A/Chapter6/78A-6-S307.html
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additional kinship caregivers or friends who may have the ability to have the child 232 
placed with them.  The potential kinship caregiver/friend will be informed that the 233 
information discussed is confidential and will only be used by Child and Family Services 234 
to address the best interests of the child.   235 

 236 
C. The caseworker/kin locator or region appointed person will provide written notice 237 

(Kinship Pamphlet) to a non-custodial parent, all grandparents, and other adult relatives 238 
(including an adult who is an adoptive parent of the child's sibling) known to Child and 239 
Family Services or suggested by the legal parent(s) within 30 days of removal, except 240 
when family or domestic violence justifies not providing notice.  The written notice will: 241 
1. Specify that the child has been or is being removed from the custody of the 242 

parent or parents of the child; 243 
2. Explain the options the relative has under federal, state or local law to 244 

participate in the care and placement of the child, including any options that 245 
may be lost by failing to respond to the notice; and 246 

3. Describe the requirements to become a licensed resource family or to request 247 
court ordered custody and guardianship and any additional services and 248 
supports that are available for children placed in a kinship caregiver home. 249 

 250 
 If a permanent placement has not been identified and if it is in the best interest of the 251 

child, the caseworker will continue to search for kinship caregivers.  Kinship searches are 252 
required when children are not placed with kin and are in custody for over 12 months 253 
with no permanency options, or if there is any disruption or change in placement unless 254 
a kinship search was done within the past 90 days. 255 

 256 
 At the shelter hearing and subsequent hearings when requested, the caseworker will 257 

report progress of kinship exploration to the Guardian ad Litem (GAL), AAG, and court. 258 
1. Record all identified relatives or friends in SAFE located in the Person Screen 259 

under the Child and Family Relationships field. 260 
2. The ongoing worker will make phone or face-to-face contact with kin/friends 261 

who have expressed interest in being involved with the child. 262 
3. Responses to the Notification to Kin Letters will be filed in the green binder 263 

under the kinship tab.  264 
4. The caseworker will continue searches as needed and contact kin locator with 265 

identified information on possible relatives. 266 
   267 

Kin Locator or Region Appointed Person Responsibilities: 268 
A. The kin locator or region appointed person will complete all searches on 269 

relatives/friends within 30 days of removal using only Child and Family Services 270 
approved processes.  Complete searches on identified relatives or friends referred by 271 
the caseworker. 272 

http://hspolicy.utah.gov/files/dcfs/DCFS%20Practice%20Guidelines/500-%20KinshipPamphlet.pdf
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[1. Complete searches on identified relatives or friends referred by the caseworker. 273 
2. If unable to identify or locate a non-custodial parent or family member email the 274 

Office of Recovery Services (ORS) at ORSKINSHIPLOCATOR to request a search 275 
through the National Parent Locator Service.  In the subject line, indicate DCFS 276 
Kinship Locate Request.  If the time frame to locate the non-custodial parent is 277 
URGENT, this will be noted in the subject line.  When searching for relatives, 278 
identify the name and Social Security Number.  In the body of the email, identify 279 
the child’s name, date of birth, Social Security Number, and name of caseworker 280 
making the request.  ORS should respond to requests within one business day.] 281 

 282 
B. If unable to identify or locate a non-custodial parent or family member: 283 

1. The authorized Child and Family Services worker must complete the ORS Kinship 284 
Locate Request form for each child (if kinship locate services are being requested 285 
for more than one child).  All kinship locate requests must contain the following 286 
information: 287 
(a) The child’s name; 288 
(b) The child’s date of birth or Social Security Number; 289 
(c) The individual’s name; 290 
(d) The individual’s relationship to the child; and, 291 
(e) The individual’s date of birth or social security number. 292 

 [See: Administrative Rules R495-884-3 and R495-884-4.] 293 
2. The Child and Family Services worker must provide the person’s relationship to 294 

the child. 295 
3. Once the form is complete, the Child and Family Services worker will email it to 296 

orskinshiplocator@ors.gov  297 
4. Urgent requests:  If there is an emergency situation that requires immediate 298 

attention, the Child and Family Services worker will mark the email request as a 299 
High Priority in the subject line.  If an individual is not known to the ORS 300 
information system, it is not possible to receive a quick response, even in a high 301 
priority situation. 302 

5. Information received from ORS regarding a child:  If the request for kinship 303 
locate is for the child, ORS may provide Child and Family Services with the name, 304 
date of birth, Social Security Number, and any paternity information for the 305 
child, if available.  306 

6. Information received from ORS for a parent or adult relative:  ORS may provide 307 
the following kinship locate information, if known, about a parent, alleged 308 
father, or non-parent relative: 309 
(a) Name; 310 
(b) Date of birth; 311 
(c) Social Security Number; 312 
(d) Most recent address; 313 

http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r495/r495-884.htm#T3
http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r495/r495-884.htm#T4
mailto:orskinshiplocator@ors.gov
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(e) Employer name, identification number (EIN), and address; and 314 
(f) Whether or not the information is safeguarded.  When a case has been 315 

safeguarded, ORS cannot release any locate information on that 316 
individual without an order from the court. 317 

7. The timeframes for receiving information on a kinship locate request may vary.  318 
If an individual is already known to the ORS information system, the Child and 319 
Family Services worker may receive a response within one business day.  320 
However, if an individual is not known to the ORS information system, a 321 
response may take up to 30 days.  322 

8. The response from ORS will be sent to Child and Family Services on the Locate 323 
Response for DCFS Kinship Locators form via email.  The form will contain the 324 
information requested, if available.  If no information was found, the form will 325 
still be returned, indicating that no information could be found. 326 

9. Questions about the kinship locate process should be sent to the Child and 327 
Family Services state kinship program administrator, who will contact the ORS 328 
Child Support Policy and Training Unit, if necessary.  329 

[3]10. Provide written notice (Notification to Relative Letter) to a non-custodial parent, 330 
all grandparents, all adoptive parents of the child's siblings, and other adult 331 
relatives known to Child and Family Services or suggested by the legal parent(s) 332 
within 30 days of removal, except when family or domestic violence justifies not 333 
providing notice.  The written notice will: 334 
a. Specify that the child has been or is being removed from the custody of 335 

the parent or parents of the child; 336 
b. Explain the options the relative has under federal, state, or local law to 337 

participate in the care and placement of the child, including any options 338 
that may be lost by failing to respond to the notice; and 339 

c.   Describe the requirements to become a licensed resource family or to 340 
request court-ordered custody and guardianship and any additional 341 
services and supports that are available for children placed in a kinship 342 
caregiver home. 343 

[4]11. Record all identified relatives or friends in SAFE located in the Child and Family 344 
Relationships field.   345 

[5]12. Log returned Notification to Relatives response letters in SAFE Person Screen. 346 
[6]13. Forward all returned Notification to Relatives letters to the caseworker for follow 347 

up.  File these forms in the client’s green binder under the kinship section. 348 
 349 

501.4  Preferences For Placement 350 
 351 
A. If parents share legal joint custody of a child but do not live together and Child and 352 

Family Services has determined that the child must be removed from one parent, 353 
protective custody is invoked.  The child may be placed with the other parent according 354 
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to the Preliminary Placement requirements for a non-custodial parent.  Using the 355 
components of safety decision-making, determine with the other parent the supports 356 
necessary to keep the child safe.  Report the legal joint custody status of the other 357 
parent to the court at the shelter hearing for the judge to make a decision about 358 
releasing the child to the other parent or ordering the child into Child and Family 359 
Services custody. 360 

 361 
B. The following order of preference applies to placement of a child in the custody of Child 362 

and Family Services, and is subject to the child’s best interest:  363 
1.  A non-custodial parent of the child. 364 
2.  A relative of the child. 365 
3.  A friend designated by the custodial parent or guardian [of the child or an 366 

extended family member]of the child, if the friend is licensed or willing to 367 
become a licensed foster parent within six months or sooner of the child being 368 
placed with them. The custodial parent or guardian may only designate up to 369 
two as potential Preliminary Placements, unless Child and Family Services 370 
otherwise agrees.  371 

4.  A former foster placement if still licensed, crisis care facility, or other foster 372 
placement designated by Child and Family Services. 373 
 374 

C. An eligible Indian child must be placed within the foster/pre-adoptive placement 375 
preferences established by ICWA:  376 
1. A non-custodial parent of the child. 377 
2.  Member of the child’s extended family, according to the tribe’s customary 378 

definition of extended family (25 U.S.C. §1903(2)). 379 
3.  Foster home licensed, approved, or specified by the Indian child’s tribe. 380 
4.  Indian foster home licensed or approved by an authorized non-Indian. 381 
5.  An institution for children approved by an Indian tribe or operated by an Indian 382 

organization that has a program suitable to meet the child’s needs. 383 
6. If none of the above is possible, the child may be placed in a non-Indian foster 384 

home or other appropriate out of home placement. 385 
 386 

D. A child will be placed in a placement consistent with the child’s needs, first taking into 387 
consideration preference of placement found in Practice Guidelines Section 704.  The 388 
type of out-of-home placement for the child, either the initial placement or change in 389 
placement, will be determined within the context of the Child and Family Team. 390 
Placement level decisions will be made based upon the needs, strengths, and best 391 
interests of the child according to the following criteria (these are in no particular order, 392 
rather they will be considered in the context of each case and situation): 393 

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collectionUScode.action?collectionCode=USCODE&searchPath=Title+25%2FCHAPTER+21&oldPath=Title+25%2FCHAPTER+21&isCollapsed=true&selectedYearFrom=2013&ycord=1432
http://hspolicy.utah.gov/files/dcfs/DCFS%20Practice%20Guidelines/700-%20General%20Major%20Objectives.pdf
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1.  Safety factors in regards to the potential placement, including the threats of 394 
harm to the child or that the child poses to others, the protective capacities of 395 
the caregiver, and the child’s vulnerabilities.   396 

2.  Reasonable proximity to the child’s home. 397 
3. Placing siblings together unless there is a safety concern.  398 
4.  Educational needs, including proximity to the child’s school and child’s need for 399 

maintaining connections to school. 400 
5.  Needs specific to the child’s age, including developmental level. 401 
6.  Cultural factors, language, and religion specific to the child. 402 
7.  Existing relationships between the child and a caregiver or other significant 403 

individuals in the child’s life. 404 
8.  Health and mental health needs. 405 
9.  Potential for ongoing care or permanency with the caregiver to prevent 406 

unnecessary changes in placement. 407 
 408 
E. Paternal and maternal relatives are to be considered equally when assessing for the best 409 

placement for the child. 410 
 411 
F. For the purpose of a Preliminary Placement, siblings who have only one parent in 412 

common may be placed together with the sibling’s relative, if it is in the unrelated 413 
sibling’s best interests.  The relative will meet the Preliminary Placement requirements 414 
for a relative.  Pursuit of a foster care license will be recommended to the caregiver if 415 
this is the selected ongoing placement for the child. 416 

 417 
G. When choosing from multiple placement options, the Child and Family Team will try to 418 

reach a consensus as to which kinship placement would be the most appropriate for the 419 
child. 420 

 421 
H. A potential kinship caregiver will not automatically be excluded from consideration for 422 

Preliminary Placement of a child in Child and Family Services custody due to factors that 423 
may prevent them from becoming licensed through the Office of Licensing, such as a 424 
citizenship status that is undocumented. 425 

 426 
I.  Preferential consideration means the Child and Family Team will consider the 427 

relative/friend for selection as a possible placement for the child, but does not 428 
guarantee that more than one potential kinship caregiver/friend will have background 429 
screening, limited home inspection, a Child-Specific Home Study, or that the child will be 430 
placed with the kinship caregiver/friend.  Documentation of consideration and selection 431 
of potential kinship caregivers/friend by the Child and Family Team will be maintained in 432 
SAFE in Child and Family Team notes. 433 

 434 



Utah’s Division of Child and Family Services   
Kinship   
Practice Guidelines  Revised June 2016 
   
 
 

 10 

J. Preferential consideration given to kinship caregivers in Utah Code Ann. §78A-6-307 435 
expires 120 days from the date of the shelter hearing or, if no shelter hearing was held, 436 
then from the date the child was ordered into the custody of Child and Family Services.  437 
The Child and Family Team may consider potential kinship caregivers for placement 438 
after the 120 days has lapsed if it is in the best interest of the child. 439 

 440 
K. Preferential consideration may be given to a friend if the friend is willing to become a 441 

licensed foster parent and actively working towards licensure within 120 days of the 442 
shelter hearing, or if no shelter hearing was held, within 120 days of the child being 443 
ordered into the custody of Child and Family Services. [See: Practice Guidelines Section 444 
502.8.] 445 

 446 

501.5  Factors That May Delay Placement Or Hinder Permanency 447 

 448 
When selecting a kinship caregiver, consideration will be given to factors that may result in a 449 
delay of placement or that may hinder progress towards the child’s permanency goals.  Factors 450 
of concern will be communicated to the potential kinship caregiver/friend, which may lead 451 
them to recommend a different kinship caregiver/friend to prevent a delay in placement or to 452 
better support potential permanency options. 453 
 454 
A. Previous Child Abuse or Neglect Finding or Criminal History:  Placement will likely be 455 

delayed if any adult in the home of the potential kinship caregiver/friend has had a 456 
previous child abuse or neglect finding or criminal history because more extensive 457 
identity verification and evaluation of threat of harm to a child is required.  The kinship 458 
caregiver/friend may also be required to obtain and provide legal documents further 459 
explaining the criminal history.  In addition, a Region Background Screening Committee 460 
will likely be required to evaluate the history before a decision regarding approval or 461 
denial can be made. 462 

 463 
B. Out of Area/Out of State:  If the potential kinship caregiver/friend lives out of the area, 464 

reunification efforts could be impacted by distance.  Also, if the kinship caregiver/friend 465 
lives out of state, a significant amount of time may be required to complete the 466 
Interstate Compact for the Placement of Children (ICPC) requirements, including an out 467 
of state background screening and home study, which must be met prior to placement.   468 

 469 
C. Inability to Qualify for Adoption or as a Foster Parent:   470 

1. If child abuse findings or criminal history do not meet the standards for the 471 
Office of Licensing, a kinship caregiver/friend would not be able to qualify for 472 
ongoing care of the child as a licensed foster parent or for adoption assistance, if 473 
that becomes the plan for the child.   474 

http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title78A/Chapter6/78A-6-S307.html
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2. [If a kinship caregiver/friend has a citizenship status that is undocumented, 475 
ongoing care as a licensed foster parent nor adoption assistance would be an 476 
option; potential arrest or deportation could also be a concern.]If a kinship 477 
caregiver/friend is not able to provide documentation to show U.S. citizenship or 478 
residential status, ongoing care as a licensed foster parent and adoption 479 
assistance may not be an option; potential arrest or deportation may also be a 480 
concern. 481 

3. If adults in the home are cohabitating and are not legally married, careful 482 
consideration will be given to permanency options because Child and Family 483 
Services cannot place a child in custody with caregivers that are cohabitating, 484 
even if they are licensed as foster parents, and neither adoption nor adoption 485 
assistance could be pursued in Utah.   486 

 487 
If a decision is made in any of these types of circumstances to recommend custody and 488 
guardianship to the kinship caregiver/friend, the court must be fully educated on the risks and 489 
limitations for permanency. 490 
 491 



Utah’s Division of Child and Family Services   
Kinship   
Practice Guidelines  Revised June 2016 
   
 
 

 12 

502  Kinship Services - Preliminary Placement  492 

 493 
 494 
 495 
 496 
 497 
 498 
 499 
 500 
 501 
 502 
 503 
 504 
 505 
 506 
 507 
 508 
 509 
 510 
 511 
 512 
 513 
 514 
 515 
 516 
Applicable Law 517 
Utah Code Ann. §62A-2-120. Criminal background checks – Direct access to children or 518 
vulnerable adults. 519 
Utah Code Ann. §62A-4a-202.1. Entering home of a child – Taking a child into protective 520 
custody – Caseworker accompanied by peace officer – Preventive services – Shelter facility or 521 
emergency placement. 522 
Utah Code Ann. §62A-4a-209. Emergency placement. 523 
Utah Code Ann. §62A-4a Part 7. Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children. 524 
Utah Code Ann. §78A-6-306. Shelter hearing. 525 
Utah Code Ann. §78A-6-307. Shelter hearing – Placement – DCFS custody. 526 
Utah Code Ann. §78A-6-307.5. Post-shelter hearing placement of a child who is in division 527 
custody. 528 
U.S. Code Title 25, Chapter 21.  Indian Child Welfare. 529 
 530 

Major objectives: 
A. Child and Family Services may place a child in custody into a Preliminary Placement 

with a kinship caregiver (non-custodial parent or relative), or a friend designated by a 
parent/guardian who is willing to become a licensed foster parent within six months or 
sooner of the child being placed with them. 

 
B. A Preliminary Placement is used to keep a child in Child and Family Services custody 

safe while the Child and Family Team makes decisions regarding the child’s ongoing 
care and determines what steps are necessary to promote the safety, well-being, 
stability, and permanency of the child.   

 
C. Criteria for approving a kinship caregiver/friend for Preliminary Placement include 

background screening, assessment of safety, limited home inspection, general 
qualifying criteria, and may include a reference check. 

 
D. The kinship caregiver/friend is responsible to meet the basic needs of the child while in 

their care.  The caseworker will educate and assist the kinship caregiver/friend on 
possible financial and medical resources to support the child’s needs. 

 
E. The kinship caregiver/friend will assist in carrying out plans for visitation for the child 

and will be engaged as a participant in the Child and Family Team. 

http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter2/62A-2-S120.html?v=C62A-2-S120_1800010118000101
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-S202.1.html?v=C62A-4a-S202.1_1800010118000101
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-S209.html?v=C62A-4a-S209_1800010118000101
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-P7.html?v=C62A-4a-P7_1800010118000101
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title78A/Chapter6/78A-6-S306.html?v=C78A-6-S306_2014040320140513
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title78A/Chapter6/78A-6-S307.html
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title78A/Chapter6/78A-6-S307.5.html
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collectionUScode.action?collectionCode=USCODE&searchPath=Title+25%2FCHAPTER+21&oldPath=Title+25%2FCHAPTER+21&isCollapsed=true&selectedYearFrom=2013&ycord=1432
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502.1  Preliminary Placement Overview 531 

 532 
A Preliminary Placement is an out-of-home placement with a non-custodial parent, relative, or 533 
a friend (including an extended relative) of the custodial parent or guardian.  A Preliminary 534 
Placement is used to keep a child in Child and Family Services custody safe while the Child and 535 
Family Team makes decisions regarding the child’s ongoing care and determines what steps are 536 
necessary to promote the safety, well-being, stability, and permanency of the child.  537 
Preliminary Placement with a kinship caregiver or friend is preferred over crisis care and may be 538 
considered for emergency foster care to avoid the use of another out-of-home placement with 539 
a caregiver who is unfamiliar to the child.  The Preliminary Placement may also remain as the 540 
child’s ongoing placement with the kinship caregiver becoming a licensed foster parent or being 541 
granted custody and guardianship.  The Preliminary Placement may also remain as the child’s 542 
ongoing placement with the friend becoming a licensed foster parent. Child and Family Services 543 
may not recommend that friends [may not]be granted custody and guardianship of the child. 544 
 545 
A Preliminary Placement may be made while a child is in protective custody prior to a shelter 546 
hearing or after a court has ordered a child into the custody of Child and Family Services.  A 547 
Preliminary Placement may continue while an evaluation is conducted and a plan is formed for 548 
ongoing care of the child. 549 
 550 
If it is determined that the Preliminary Placement will not be the ongoing placement for the 551 
child, the Preliminary Placement may assist in transitioning the child to an ongoing caregiver.  552 
 553 

502.2  Selection Of Kinship Caregiver For Preliminary Placement 554 

 555 
Child and Family Services is primarily responsible to select a kinship caregiver/friend for 556 
Preliminary Placement, taking into account preferences for placement, the best interest of the 557 
child, the kinship caregiver/friend’s ability to meet qualifying requirements, and factors that 558 
may delay placement, result in multiple moves, or hinder progress towards the child’s 559 
permanency goals.   560 
 561 
Out-of-Home Practice Guidelines Section 300 apply during a Preliminary Placement with the 562 
following exceptions: 563 
 564 
A. Traditional foster care placement screening or legal risk screening for foster/adoptive 565 

placements are not required when Preliminary Placement with a kinship 566 
caregiver/friend is being considered.   567 

 568 
B. No crisis care or residential screening processes are required.   569 
 570 

http://hspolicy.utah.gov/files/dcfs/DCFS%20Practice%20Guidelines/300-%20Out-of-Home%20Services.pdf
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The kinship caregiver will be at least 18 years of age; age 21 years or older is preferred because 571 
of age requirements to be licensed as a child-specific foster parent.  A friend would be required 572 
to be aged 21 due to the requirement for them to obtain a foster parent license.  In the event a 573 
non-custodial parent is younger than age 18 years, care must be given that the non-custodial 574 
parent has a permanent residence and sufficient means to care for and ensure the safety of the 575 
child, preferably with a responsible relative or other adult.   576 
 577 
It may be necessary for the child to receive temporary care while background screening and a 578 
limited home inspection are being completed, or while waiting for the non-custodial parent, 579 
kinship caregiver, or friend to arrive to pick up the child.  This care may be provided at sites 580 
identified by the region such as a crisis care facility or home, family support center, or other 581 
appropriate location. 582 
 583 

502.3  Background Screening Requirements For Preliminary Placement 584 

And Ongoing Care Regarding Non-Custodial Parent And Kinship Caregivers 585 

 586 

A. PRELIMINARY PLACEMENT With Non-Custodial Parent:  The following background 587 
screenings are required for [adults age 18 years and older]the non-custodial parent and 588 
all individuals living in the home of the [kinship caregiver/friend prior to placement of a 589 
child, with one exception]non-custodial parent. 590 
1. If the child is being placed with a non-custodial parent, [this]the following checks 591 

may be completed for the non-custodial parent and any other [adults age 18 592 
years and older]individuals living in the home before or within one day after a 593 
child is placed, excluding weekends and holidays, if based upon a limited 594 
investigation Child and Family Services determines that: 595 
a. The non-custodial parent has regular, unsupervised visitation with the 596 

child that is not prohibited by law or court order; and  597 
b. Based on the caseworker’s best judgment and analysis of available 598 

information, there is no reason to believe that the child’s health or safety 599 
will be endangered by making the placement prior to the background 600 
screening being completed. 601 

2. Utah Criminal History Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI):  A non-fingerprint-602 
based Utah BCI criminal history check must be approved for the non-custodial 603 
parent and all adults age 18 years and older living in the home[ of the kinship 604 
caregiver/friend prior to placement of a child, except as noted above for a non-605 
custodial parent]. 606 

3. Child and Adult Abuse and Neglect History Checks through SAFE:  SAFE 607 
background checks for child and adult abuse and neglect must be approved for 608 
[all adults age 18 years and older]the non-custodial parent and all individuals 609 
living in the home[ of the kinship caregiver/friend prior to placement of a child, 610 
except as noted above for a non-custodial parent]. 611 
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country lived in or efforts to obtain such history.] 612 
4. Juvenile Criminal History:  A name-based check through the Utah Criminal Justice 613 

System (UCJIS) must be approved for the non-custodial parent and all adults age 614 
18 years and older living in the home. 615 
a. A name-based check through the UCJIS must be approved for all 616 

individuals age 12 to 17 years old living in the home of the non-custodial 617 
parent. 618 

5. The following background screenings are not required for the non-custodial 619 
parent, but Child and Family Services may require any of these checks if Utah 620 
criminal history or SAFE child abuse checks result in concerns about potential 621 
threat of harm to the child.  622 

a. Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Fingerprint-Based Criminal 623 
History Check. 624 

b. Out of State Child Abuse Registry Check. 625 
 626 

[B. The following background screenings are required for all adults age 18 years and older 627 
living in the home of the kinship caregiver or friend, as specified below, but may be 628 
completed after the child has been placed in a Preliminary Placement. 629 
1. Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Fingerprint-Based Criminal History Check: 630 

a. This check is not mandatory for a non-custodial parent, but Child and 631 
Family Services may require this check if Utah criminal history or SAFE 632 
child abuse checks result in concerns about potential threat of harm to 633 
the child. 634 

b. Live Scan fingerprint scanning must be completed or fingerprint cards 635 
submitted within 10 business days after placement of the child. 636 

2. Out of State Child Abuse Registry Check:  An out of state child abuse registry 637 
check is required for any state in which a relative, friend, or other adult age 18 638 
years and older in the home has lived in the previous five years.   This check is 639 
not mandatory for a non-custodial parent, but Child and Family Services may 640 
require this check if Utah criminal history or SAFE child abuse checks result in 641 
concerns about potential threat of harm to the child. 642 

3. Out of Country Background Check:   643 
a. If a relative, friend, or any other adult age 18 years and older in the home 644 

has resided outside of the U.S. in the five years prior to the request for 645 
background screening, Child and Family Services may require the kinship 646 
caregiver/friend to provide out of country background screening 647 
documentation prior to or after placing a child in a Preliminary 648 
Placement.  649 

b. The kinship caregiver/friend may be required to provide the following 650 
documentation for adults age 18 years and older that have resided 651 
outside of the United States in the previous five years.  Note that the 652 
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United States territories of Puerto Rico, American Samoa, United States 653 
Virgin Islands, and Guam are considered outside of the United States.  654 
Contact information for embassies of countries outside of the United 655 
States can be obtained at http://www.embassy.org/embassies/. 656 
(1) A criminal history report from each country lived in; or  657 
(2) A letter of honorable release from the United States Military or 658 

full-time ecclesiastical service, from each country lived in; or 659 
(3) Other written verification of criminal history from each  660 

 661 
B. PRELIMINARY PLACEMENT With Kinship Caregiver Relative:  The following background 662 

screenings are required for the kinship caregiver relative and all individuals living in the 663 
home of the kinship caregiver relative PRIOR to placement of a child. 664 
1. Utah Criminal History Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI):  A non-fingerprint-665 

based Utah BCI criminal history check must be approved for the kinship caregiver 666 
relative and all adults age 18 years and older living in the home. 667 

2. Child and Adult Abuse and Neglect History Checks through SAFE:  SAFE 668 
background checks for child and adult abuse and neglect must be approved for 669 
the kinship caregiver relative and all individuals living in the home. 670 

3. Juvenile Criminal History:  A name-based check through the Utah Criminal Justice 671 
System (UCJIS) must be approved for the kinship caregiver relative and all adults 672 
age 18 years and older living in the home. 673 
a. Juvenile Criminal History: A name-based check through the UCJIS must be 674 

approved for all individuals age 12 to 17 years old living in the home of 675 
the kinship caregiver relative. 676 

 677 
C. ONGOING CARE With Kinship Caregiver Relative: The following background screenings 678 

are required for the kinship caregiver relative and all adults age 18 years and older living 679 
in the home but may be completed AFTER placement of child has occurred.   680 
1. Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Fingerprint-Based Criminal History Check: 681 

a. Live Scan fingerprint scanning must be completed or fingerprint cards 682 
submitted within 10 business days after placement of the child. 683 

2. Out of State Child Abuse Registry Check:  An out of state child abuse registry 684 
check is required for any state in which the relative or other adult age 18 years 685 
and older living in the home has lived in the previous five years.    686 

 687 
D. PRELIMINARY PLACEMENT With Kinship Caregiver Friend BEFORE SHELTER HEARING:  688 

The following background screenings are required for the kinship caregiver friend and all 689 
individuals living in the home PRIOR to placement of a child. 690 
1. Utah Criminal History Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI):  A non-fingerprint-691 

based Utah BCI criminal history check must be approved for the kinship caregiver 692 
friend and all adults age 18 years and older living in the home. 693 

http://www.embassy.org/embassies/
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2. Child and Adult Abuse and Neglect History Checks through SAFE:  SAFE 694 
background checks for child and adult abuse and neglect must be approved for 695 
the kinship caregiver friend and all individuals living in the home. 696 

3. Juvenile Criminal History:  A name-based check through the Utah Criminal Justice 697 
System (UCJIS) must be approved for the kinship caregiver friend and all adults 698 
age 18 years and older living in the home. 699 
a. Juvenile Criminal History: A name-based check through the UCJIS must be 700 

approved for all individuals age 12 to 17 years old living in the home of 701 
the kinship caregiver friend. 702 
(1) Federal Name-Based Check:  A federal name-based criminal 703 

history check through Interstate Identification Index (III) must be 704 
approved for the kinship caregiver friend and all adults age 18 705 
years and older living in the home. 706 

 707 
E. ONGOING CARE With Kinship Caregiver Friend When Placement Occurred BEFORE 708 

Shelter:  The following background screenings are required for the kinship caregiver 709 
friend and all adults living in the home but may be completed AFTER placement of child 710 
has occurred. 711 
1. Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Fingerprint-Based Criminal History Check: A 712 

fingerprint-based criminal history check for the kinship caregiver friend and all 713 
adults age 18 years and older living in the home.   714 
a. Live scan fingerprinting must be completed or fingerprint cards submitted 715 

within 15 calendar days of III check being completed. 716 
b. If the kinship caregiver friend or any adults age 18 years or older living in 717 

the home fail to complete live scan fingerprinting within the designated 718 
time frame, then the child shall immediately be removed from the home 719 
[see:  Practice Guidelines Section 301.2]. 720 

2. Out of State Child Abuse Registry Check:  An out of state child abuse registry 721 
check is required for any state in which a kinship caregiver friend or other adult 722 
age 18 years and older living in the home has lived in the previous five years. 723 

 724 
F. PRELIMINARY PLACEMENT With Kinship Caregiver Friend AFTER SHELTER HEARING: The 725 

following background screenings are required for the kinship caregiver friend and all 726 
individuals living in the home PRIOR to placement of a child. 727 
1. Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) Fingerprint Based Check:  A fingerprint-728 

based criminal history check for the kinship caregiver friend and all adults age 18 729 
years and older living in the home. 730 

2. Child and Adult Abuse and Neglect History Checks through SAFE:  SAFE 731 
background checks for child and adult abuse and neglect must be approved for 732 
the kinship caregiver friend and all individuals living in the home. 733 

http://hspolicy.utah.gov/files/dcfs/DCFS%20Practice%20Guidelines/300-%20Out-of-Home%20Services.pdf
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3. Juvenile Criminal History:  A name-based check through the Utah Criminal Justice 734 
System (UCJIS) must be approved for the kinship caregiver friend and all adults 735 
age 18 years and older living in the home. 736 
a. Juvenile Criminal History: A name based check through the UCJIS must be 737 

approved for all individuals age 12 to 17 years old living in the home of 738 
the kinship caregiver friend. 739 

 740 
 G.  ONGOING CARE With Kinship Caregiver Friend When Placement Occurred AFTER 741 

Shelter:  The following background screenings are required for the kinship caregiver 742 
friend and all adults living in the home but may be completed AFTER placement of child 743 
has occurred. 744 
1. Out of State Child Abuse Registry Check:  An out of state child abuse registry 745 

check is required for any state in which a kinship caregiver friend or other adult 746 
age 18 years and older living in the home has lived in the previous five years. 747 

2. Friend or Extended Family Member:  In cases where a placement is made with a 748 
friend or kinship caregiver that is already a licensed foster parent, no additional 749 
background screening is required for Preliminary Placement or as part of the 750 
evaluation of capacity for ongoing care of the child, unless there is valid reason 751 
to believe that the information obtained through the licensing process may no 752 
longer be complete. The background screening has already been completed as a 753 
part of the licensure process. 754 

 755 
[C]H. Option to Require Additional Background Screening Prior to Placement:  Child and 756 

Family Services may require a fingerprint-based national criminal history check, out of 757 
state child abuse registry check, or out of country criminal history check prior to placing 758 
a child in a Preliminary Placement with a kinship caregiver/friend when there is reason 759 
to believe that the additional background screening may be necessary to prevent threat 760 
of harm for the child.  [If there is a concern about a juvenile court history, consult with 761 
the AAG to determine whether or not those records can be accessed.]   762 
a.   If out of country documentation is needed, the following can be accepted.  Note 763 

that the United States territories of Puerto Rico, American Samoa, United States 764 
Virgin Islands, and Guam are considered outside of the United States.  Contact 765 
information for embassies of countries outside of the United States can be 766 
obtained at http://www.embassy.org/embassies/. 767 
(1) A criminal history report from each country lived in; or  768 
(2) A letter of honorable release from the United States Military or full-time 769 

ecclesiastical service, from each country lived in; or 770 
(3)       Other written verification of criminal history from each country lived in or 771 

efforts to obtain such history. 772 
 773 
 Examples of circumstances in which additional background screening may be 774 

appropriate include need for verification of identity for a non-fingerprint-based Utah BCI 775 

http://www.embassy.org/embassies/


Utah’s Division of Child and Family Services   
Kinship   
Practice Guidelines  Revised June 2016 
   
 
 

 19 

criminal history report, indication of multi-state offense on the Utah BCI criminal history 776 
report, recent move to Utah, suspicious behavior or circumstances, or concerns 777 
regarding out of state criminal or abuse activity reported by a person known to the 778 
individual. 779 

 780 

502.4  Limited Home Inspection For Preliminary Placement  781 

 782 
A. The caseworker, supervisor, or other employee designated by the region director will 783 

conduct a limited home inspection (KBS16) in the home of the potential kinship 784 
caregiver/friend prior to placement to determine if there are apparent conditions that 785 
may present a threat of harm to the child, with one exception as indicated below. 786 
 787 
If the child is being placed with a non-custodial parent, the limited home inspection may 788 
be completed before or within one day after a child is placed, excluding weekends and 789 
holidays, if based upon a limited investigation Child and Family Services determines 790 
that: 791 
1. The non-custodial parent has regular, unsupervised visitation with the child that 792 

is not prohibited by law or court order; and  793 
2. Based on the caseworker’s best judgment and analysis of available information, 794 

there is no reason to believe that the child’s health or safety will be endangered 795 
by making the placement prior to completion of the limited home inspection. 796 

 797 
B. The limited home inspection determines if the following are met: 798 

1. The home is free from observable safety, health and fire hazards.  (See 799 
Environmental Neglect in Practice Guidelines Section 204.5.) 800 

2. There are adequate sleeping arrangements to meet the specific needs of each 801 
child; and 802 

3. Any firearms, ammunition, hazardous chemicals, and/or medications are secured 803 
and not accessible to children. 804 
 805 

C. In situations where the non-custodial parent, kinship caregiver, or friend lives in Utah 806 
but outside of the region where the child resides, [the supervisor of the child’s 807 
caseworker will contact a CPS supervisor in the respective region]the caseworker will 808 
send a Request for Kinship Support Services (KBS09) to the region kinship supervisor in 809 
the region where the prospective kin/friend placement resides as soon as possible to 810 
request a limited home inspection.  The receiving region will make contact with the non-811 
custodial parent, kinship caregiver, or friend to schedule and complete the limited home 812 
inspection according to the urgency identified by the requesting region. 813 

 814 

http://hspolicy.utah.gov/files/dcfs/DCFS%20Practice%20Guidelines/200-%20Child%20Protective%20Services.pdf
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502.5  Assessment Of Safety For Preliminary Placement  815 

 816 

The caseworker, supervisor, or other person designated by the region director will conduct an 817 
assessment of safety for placement of a child with a potential kinship caregiver/friend, based 818 
on safety decision-making, which includes: 819 
 820 
A. Specific and Observable Threats of Harm: 821 

1. Background screening results, 822 
2. Other persons who have regular access to the home, and 823 
3. Age-specific environmental conditions. 824 

 825 
B. Vulnerabilities of the Child: 826 

1. The child’s comfort level with the kinship caregiver/friend, and 827 
2. Age and developmental level of the child. 828 

 829 
C. Protective Capacities of the Kinship Caregiver/Friend and Their Support System: 830 

1. Ability of the kinship caregiver/friend to meet or address the safety, physical, 831 
and emotional needs of the child, and 832 

2. Access to resources. 833 
 834 

502.6  Reference Check For Preliminary Placement 835 

 836 
A. Child and Family Services may request the name and contact information for a reference 837 

from the potential kinship caregiver/friend and may contact the individual to obtain 838 
input about the potential kinship caregiver/friend’s ability to safely care for the child.  839 
The caseworker may ask for information such as: 840 
1. How familiar the individual is with the kinship caregiver/friend. 841 
2. If the individual would recommend the placement of a child in the home of the 842 

kinship caregiver/friend. 843 
3. What information the individual can provide regarding the kinship 844 

caregiver/friend’s capacity to care for a child. 845 
4. Whether the individual has knowledge of the kinship caregiver/friend’s 846 

interaction with the child. 847 
5. Whether the individual is aware of any other relatives or friends of the child to 848 

consider as a possible preliminary or long-term placement. 849 
6. Any other information the individual can provide that will assist the caseworker 850 

in assessing the appropriateness of the placement. 851 
 852 
B. The caseworker will assess the individual’s level of familiarity with the potential kinship 853 

caregiver/friend before giving significant consideration to the information provided.  If 854 
negative feedback is received from the individual, the caseworker will consider further 855 
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assessment of the potential kinship caregiver/friend prior to making the Preliminary 856 
Placement.  857 

 858 

502.7  General Qualifying Requirements For Preliminary Placement  859 

 860 

In addition to requirements specified above for a non-custodial parent, kinship caregiver, 861 
relative, or friend, the following requirements must be met prior to approving Preliminary 862 
Placement of a child with a kinship caregiver/friend: 863 
 864 
A. If the Preliminary Placement is being considered prior to the shelter hearing, Child and 865 

Family Services will ask the child’s custodial parent or guardian to sign a Preliminary 866 
Placement Agreement stating that they: 867 
1. Agree not to remove the child from the home of the kinship caregiver/friend. 868 
2. Agree not to have any contact with the child until after the shelter hearing, 869 

unless authorized by Child and Family Services in writing. 870 
 871 

 The caseworker will document in activity logs if the parent or guardian refuses or is not 872 
able to sign a parent/guardian Preliminary Placement Agreement.  Child and Family 873 
Services may place a child with a kinship caregiver/friend if a parent refuses or is unable 874 
to sign a Preliminary Placement Agreement if it is in the child’s best interest. 875 

 876 
 If the Preliminary Placement is being made after the shelter hearing and the court has 877 

ordered the child into Child and Family Services custody, no custodial parent or guardian 878 
agreement is required. 879 
 880 

B. The kinship caregiver/friend: 881 
1. Signs a Preliminary Placement Agreement stating that they: 882 
2. Are able and willing to keep the child safe and provide daily care and nurturance. 883 
3. Agree not to allow the custodial parent or guardian to have any contact with the 884 

child unless authorized by the court or Child and Family Services in writing. 885 
4. Agree to contact law enforcement and Child and Family Services if the custodial 886 

parent or guardian attempts to make unauthorized contact with the child. 887 
5. Are able and willing to take the child to medical, mental health, dental, and 888 

educational appointments at the request of Child and Family Services.  889 
6. Are willing to apply for medical benefits through the Department of Workforce 890 

Services within 10 business days of the child’s placement.   891 
[6]7. Agree to allow Child and Family Services and the child's GAL to have access to 892 

the child. 893 
[7]8. Are willing to support the child’s permanency plan, including assisting the 894 

custodial parent or guardian in reunification efforts at the request of Child and 895 
Family Services. 896 
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[8]9. Are willing to follow all court orders. 897 
[9]10. Have been informed and understand that Child and Family Services may 898 

continue to search for other possible placements for long-term care of the child, 899 
if needed. 900 

[10]11. Agree to submit a background screening application, copy of photo 901 
identification, and fingerprints through Live Scan or hard copy cards for a 902 
fingerprint-based background check within 10 business days of placement of the 903 
child. 904 

[11]12. Agree to inform Child and Family Services of any changes or circumstances that 905 
might affect the child’s well-being such as a change in health, address, or 906 
caregiving arrangements. 907 

 908 
C. The child is comfortable with the kinship caregiver/friend. 909 
 910 
D. A supervisor approves the placement. 911 
 912 
E. Child and Family Services may not place a child with an individual who is prohibited by 913 

court order from having access to that child. 914 
 915 

502.8  Preliminary Placement With A Friend 916 

 917 
A child may be placed in the home of a friend (including an extended relative) designated by 918 
the custodial parent or guardian of the child, if the friend is a licensed foster parent, or if the 919 
friend agrees to become a licensed foster parent within six months of the child being placed 920 
with them.  All Out-of-Home Practice Guidelines in Section 300 apply to the friend or extended 921 
relative of the child.  [See: Administrative Rule R512-500-4.] 922 
 923 
Child and Family Services staff will be aware that when a Preliminary Placement of a child is 924 
made with a friend designated by the parent, the friend is not eligible for the specified relative 925 
grant or other financial benefits through the Division of Workforce Services (DWS).  At this time, 926 
with the exception of cases where the child has a trust account and/or a parent with the ability 927 
to pay child support, there are no financial supports available for friends designated by the 928 
parents as caregivers for the child until the friend becomes a licensed foster parent.  Staff will 929 
give careful consideration to whether the friend has the financial capability to support the 930 
child’s needs during the period before completion of foster care licensure.  Friends chosen as 931 
caregivers for a child in custody may be eligible to receive a Medicaid card for the child through 932 
DWS while pursuing foster parent licensure. 933 
 934 
When Child and Family Services makes a Preliminary Placement with an unlicensed friend, the 935 
friend caregiver is required to be actively engaged in the process of obtaining foster parent 936 
licensure within 60 days of the child being placed with them.  If a friend caregiver receives a 937 

http://hspolicy.utah.gov/files/dcfs/DCFS%20Practice%20Guidelines/300-%20Out-of-Home%20Services.pdf
http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r512/r512-500.htm#T4
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[probationary]provisional license, the friend caregiver must continue the process and obtain 938 
foster parent licensure within six months of the child being placed with them or the child will be 939 
removed from the home of the friend caregiver.  Foster parent licensure refers to being 940 
licensed as a foster parent or obtaining a child-specific license through the Utah Department of 941 
Human Services, Office of Licensing.   942 
 943 
When the kinship worker or other designated staff begin to meet with the friend caregiver after 944 
the child is placed, information will be provided to the friend caregiver to assist them in caring 945 
for the needs of the child and planning for the child’s permanency.  The kinship worker will 946 
review with the friend caregiver the requirement that they obtain foster parent licensure, help 947 
them understand the steps to complete for foster parent licensure, as well as what resources 948 
are available to them once they become licensed.   949 
 950 
A. The kinship or other designated staff will discuss with the friend caregiver the advantages 951 

and responsibilities of becoming a licensed foster care placement for the child.  Resources 952 
and advantages include: 953 
1. Monthly foster care payment. 954 
2. Medical needs maintained by Child and Family Services to cover Medicaid, 955 

dental, and mental health needs. 956 
3. Access to and assistance from a Resource Family Consultant.  957 
4. Further options for supports and resources, such as trackers, respite, and mental 958 

health services, other than those found through the local mental health 959 
authorities. 960 

5. Educational and training opportunities to assist them in meeting the needs of 961 
the child. 962 

6. Cluster support groups. 963 
7. Respite care. 964 
8. If the child’s permanency goal changes to adoption, the AAG will facilitate a 965 

process for termination of parental rights and the child will be assessed for 966 
monthly adoption assistance. 967 

9. Transition to Adult Living resources. 968 
10. Health Care Nurse. 969 

 970 
B. In an effort to support the permanency needs of the child and expedite the ability of the 971 

friend caregiver to obtain foster parent licensure, a caseworker and/or kinship worker will 972 
complete the following after the placement of the child with the friend caregiver: 973 
1. Within two months (or earlier) of initial placement of the child with the friend 974 

caregiver:  The caseworker, kinship worker, or other designated Child and Family 975 
Services staff will conduct a child and family team meeting for the purpose of 976 
addressing the permanency needs of the child.  The Child and Family Team 977 
Meeting will include the following individuals (when applicable):  the friend with 978 
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whom the children were placed, other potential kinship caregivers and relatives, 979 
the caseworker, the kinship worker[resource family consultant], and any other 980 
Child and Family Services staff involved in the placement, including out of region 981 
staff if the placement is made in another region.  Other informal and formal 982 
supports to the family may include supportive family, friends, health care nurse, 983 
therapist, school representative, daycare provider, etc.).  Child and Family 984 
Services staff will do the following in the Child and Family Team Meeting: 985 
a. Educate the friend caregiver regarding permanency timeframes and 986 

other information associated with the case. 987 
b. Review the advantages of becoming licensed with the friend caregiver 988 

(listed in A1 above).  Remind the friend caregiver that when the child was 989 
initially placed with them, they agreed to become a licensed foster care 990 
provider.  991 

c. Review the progress of the friend caregiver in obtaining the 992 
[probationary]provisional license.  993 

d. If the friend caregiver does not have the [probationary]provisional 994 
license, assess whether there are systemic issues that have prevented it 995 
or whether the friend caregiver has not actively engaged in the process of 996 
obtaining the [probationary]provisional license.  If the friend caregiver 997 
has not engaged in the process of obtaining a [probationary]provisional 998 
license, assess whether the friend caregiver is able to care for the needs 999 
of the child and whether the child needs to be moved to a new 1000 
placement. 1001 

e. If the friend caregiver has received a [probationary]provisional license, 1002 
explain there are further steps to achieve foster parent licensure and that 1003 
the [probationary]provisional license will expire after six months.  1004 

f. Review the steps for obtaining foster parent licensure.   1005 
g. Review the progress of the friend caregiver in obtaining foster parent 1006 

licensure.   1007 
h. Assess whether the friend caregiver is actively engaged in the process of 1008 

obtaining the foster parent license. Examples of being “actively engaged” 1009 
include but are not limited to the following:   1010 
(1) Licensing application has been completed and given to the 1011 

caseworker or kinship worker. [(2) Information for references 1012 
have been filled out and returned to the Office of Licensing (OL).] 1013 

[(3)](2) Child and Family Services kinship staff has been contacted to 1014 
schedule a home study. 1015 

[(4)](3) Medical appointments are scheduled or complete. 1016 
[(5)](4) FBI fingerprint background screening has been completed.  1017 
[(6)](5) Friend caregiver has begun required foster parent training.  1018 
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i. If the friend caregiver is not actively engaged in the process of obtaining 1019 
foster parent licensure, assess whether the child needs to be removed 1020 
from the friend caregiver’s care and explore other placement options for 1021 
the child. 1022 
(1) Remind the friend caregiver that if foster parent licensure is not 1023 

completed prior to the [probationary]provisional license expiring, 1024 
the child will be removed from their care. 1025 

(2) Introduce the concept of adoption to the friend caregiver and 1026 
provide education regarding the child’s need for permanency, 1027 
including educating the friend caregiver regarding the resources 1028 
available through Adoption Assistance and post adoption support 1029 
if the friend caregiver becomes licensed. 1030 

(3) If the friend caregiver has not yet become licensed, discuss any 1031 
obstacles to obtaining licensure and help formulate a written 1032 
action plan to overcome the barriers.  The written plan will state 1033 
Child and Family Services’ expectations of the friend caregiver, 1034 
provide specific steps and designate who is responsible for each 1035 
step, and outline specific dates to accomplish the steps prior to 1036 
meeting in two more months. 1037 

2. Within four months (or earlier) of initial placement of the child with the friend 1038 
caregiver, if the friend caregiver has not yet received the foster parent license, 1039 
the caseworker or kinship worker will conduct a Child and Family Team Meeting 1040 
for the purpose of assessing the progress of the friend caregiver on the written 1041 
plan that was completed in the prior team meeting.  Participants in the Child and 1042 
Family Team Meeting will include those outlined above in B1.  Child and Family 1043 
Services staff will do the following in the Child and Family Team Meeting: 1044 
a. Educate the friend caregiver that there are only two months remaining in 1045 

which they should have completed or be well into the process of 1046 
obtaining a foster parent license for the child placed in their home.   1047 

b. Inform the friend caregiver that if foster parent licensure is not obtained  1048 
and/or if the friend is not actively engaged in the process of becoming 1049 
licensed within six months of the child being placed there, the child will 1050 
be removed from their care.   1051 

c. Discuss any obstacles to obtaining licensure and modify the action plan to 1052 
overcome the barriers.  The written plan will:  1053 
State Child and Family Services’ expectations of the friend caregiver 1054 
(1)  Provide specific steps and designate who is responsible for each 1055 

step.  1056 
(2) Outline specific dates to accomplish the steps in the action plan. 1057 
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(3) Schedule a further meeting to discuss any remaining barriers for 1058 
obtaining the foster parent license prior to the end of the sixth 1059 
month.   1060 

(4) State in writing that if a foster parent license is not obtained 1061 
within six months of the child being placed there, then the child 1062 
will be removed from their care.  1063 

(5) State in writing that if the foster parent license is not obtained by 1064 
the end of the sixth month, the next meeting will be to discuss a 1065 
transition for the child to another placement. 1066 

d.  Discuss other placement options for the child, and if possible, identify 1067 
who the child will be placed with if the friend caregiver is unable to 1068 
obtain the foster parent license.   1069 

e.  If the friend caregiver is not actively engaged in the process of licensure 1070 
at the time of the four month meeting, plans to transition the child to live 1071 
with another relative or foster home will be arranged and pursued 1072 
immediately, in a manner that limits trauma to the child.   1073 

3. Within six months of initial placement, if the friend caregiver has not received 1074 
the foster parent license and the child remains in the home while retaining the 1075 
status of being in foster care, the caseworker or kinship worker will: 1076 
a. Assess whether the barriers to licensure or custody and guardianship are 1077 

the result of barriers in the system or the result of the kinship caregiver’s 1078 
lack of follow through on the written action plan. 1079 

b. If the barriers to licensure are the result of systemic issues, the kinship 1080 
worker will staff the situation with a supervisor to determine if the 1081 
barriers will likely be overcome and the child may remain in the home 1082 
pending licensure.  The staffing will include any steps that Child and 1083 
Family Services must take in order to assist in completion of the licensure 1084 
process.  The staffing will be documented in the activity logs of each 1085 
child's case.   1086 

c. If the barriers are a result of the friend caregiver’s lack of follow through, 1087 
the kinship worker will conduct a child and family team for the purpose 1088 
of planning to transition the child from the friend caregiver’s home into 1089 
the home of another relative or foster parent and addressing the child’s 1090 
permanency plan.  Participants in the Child and Family Team Meeting will 1091 
include those outlined above in B1, as well as the identified caregiver that 1092 
will have the child placed with them.   1093 

d. Unless the friend caregiver is close to completing licensure and has 1094 
completed all the necessary steps to obtain the license, the child will be 1095 
removed and placed in a home that is willing to provide permanency for 1096 
the child. 1097 
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e. In unusual circumstances, the case may be staffed to determine if 1098 
remaining in the unlicensed home that does not have custody or 1099 
guardianship is in the best interest of the child.  This option will not be 1100 
readily utilized. The staffing shall be done first with the Child and Family 1101 
Team.  Then it will be done with the State Office kinship administrator 1102 
and the deputy director of Child and Family Services.  1103 

 1104 

502.9  Preliminary Placement With A Kinship Caregiver Out Of State 1105 

 1106 
A. If the non-custodial parent lives outside of Utah, all requirements under the ICPC, 1107 

including parent home study and background screening, must be completed as 1108 
described in Practice Guidelines General Major Objectives Section 703 prior to 1109 
placement of the child out of state.  1110 

 1111 
B. If a relative lives outside of Utah, all requirements under the ICPC, including relative 1112 

home study and background screening, must be completed as described in Practice 1113 
Guidelines General Major Objectives Section 703 prior to placement of the child out of 1114 
state. 1115 

 1116 
C. If the friend who is designated for placement of the child lives outside of Utah, all 1117 

requirements under the ICPC, including fingerprint-based background screening and 1118 
being licensed as a foster parent in the receiving state, will be completed as described in 1119 
Practice Guidelines General Major Objectives Section 703 prior to placement of the child 1120 
out of state. 1121 

 1122 
D. If the child being placed is an Indian child and the kinship caregiver approved by the 1123 

tribe lives outside of Utah, the tribe must have completed their own approval or 1124 
licensure for the home prior to the child being placed out of state.  Child and Family 1125 
Services may only make foster care maintenance payments to the home if the home is 1126 
licensed by the tribe or the receiving state, and may only make Title IV-E foster care 1127 
maintenance payments if fingerprint-based background checks and out of state child 1128 
abuse registry checks have been approved as part of the licensing process.  If the tribe 1129 
has custody of the child, then ICPC does not apply. 1130 

 1131 

502.10 Notice Of Preliminary Placement 1132 

 1133 
Notice must be provided to the court and all parties to a case when a child is placed in or 1134 
moved from a Preliminary Placement.  Written notice must be provided within three days after 1135 
making or changing the placement, excluding weekends and holidays. 1136 
 1137 

http://hspolicy.utah.gov/files/dcfs/DCFS%20Practice%20Guidelines/703-%20Interstate%20Compact%20On%20Placement%20Of%20Children.pdf
http://hspolicy.utah.gov/files/dcfs/DCFS%20Practice%20Guidelines/703-%20Interstate%20Compact%20On%20Placement%20Of%20Children.pdf
http://hspolicy.utah.gov/files/dcfs/DCFS%20Practice%20Guidelines/703-%20Interstate%20Compact%20On%20Placement%20Of%20Children.pdf
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502.11 Preliminary Placement Coding In SAFE 1138 

 1139 
A. When the court orders a child into Child and Family Services custody, an SCF case will be 1140 

opened in SAFE. 1141 
 1142 
B. The caseworker will open a Preliminary Placement with a non-custodial parent, kinship 1143 

caregiver, or friend in SAFE using the BHR code.  1144 
 1145 

502.12 Preliminary Placement Financial And Medical Support 1146 

 1147 
The kinship caregiver/friend caregiver is responsible to meet the basic needs of the child while 1148 
in their care, including meeting the health care requirements specified in Practice Guidelines 1149 
Section 303.5. The caseworker will educate the kinship caregiver about potential financial and 1150 
medical resources that may be available to assist them while caring for the child and will assist 1151 
them in submitting an application and supporting documents for financial and medical benefits 1152 
to the Department of Workforce Services (DWS), if needed.  Applications for assistance will be 1153 
submitted to DWS within 10 business days after the child’s placement. 1154 
 1155 
Child and Family Services staff will be aware that when a Preliminary Placement of a child is 1156 
made with a friend designated by the parent, the friend is not eligible for the specified relative 1157 
grant or other financial benefits through the Division of Workforce Services (DWS).  At this time, 1158 
with the exception of cases where the child has a trust account and/or a parent with the ability 1159 
to pay child support, there are no financial supports available for friends designated by the 1160 
parents as caregivers for the child until the friend becomes a licensed foster parent.  Staff will 1161 
give careful consideration to whether the friend has the financial capability to support the 1162 
child’s needs during the period before completion of foster care licensure.  Friends chosen as 1163 
caregivers for a child in custody may be eligible to receive a Medicaid card for the child through 1164 
DWS while pursuing foster parent licensure. 1165 
 1166 
A. Financial Support: 1167 

1. Child Support – Office of Recovery Services (ORS):   1168 
a. If a child is placed with a non-custodial parent, that parent may contact 1169 

ORS to have an existing child support case reviewed to determine if child 1170 
support payments may be discontinued or reduced or the non-custodial 1171 
parent may apply to establish a child support case. 1172 

b. If a child is placed with a relative or friend caregiver, the caseworker will 1173 
inform the relative or friend caregiver that when a child is ordered into 1174 
Child and Family Services custody, the court also orders the parent from 1175 
whom the child is removed to contact ORS to establish a child support 1176 
case to reimburse the state for cost of care.  Some relatives are hesitant 1177 
to apply for public assistance and to sign the required Duty of Support 1178 

http://hspolicy.utah.gov/files/dcfs/DCFS%20Practice%20Guidelines/300-%20Out-of-Home%20Services.pdf
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form when applying for financial or medical benefits because of fear it 1179 
will result in the person from whom the child was removed having an 1180 
obligation for child support.  The relative needs to understand that the 1181 
court already ordered this financial obligation when the child was taken 1182 
into custody, and the relative receiving a specified relative grant does not 1183 
add to the financial obligation of the parent from which the child was 1184 
removed. 1185 

2. Public Assistance – DWS: 1186 
a. A non-custodial parent may apply for financial assistance, food stamps, or 1187 

child care through DWS.  Income and assets of all members of the 1188 
household will be considered for determining eligibility. 1189 

b. A relative may apply for specified relative financial assistance and 1190 
Medicaid to care for a related child through DWS.  Eligibility for specified 1191 
relative assistance and Medicaid is based [only]on the income and assets 1192 
of the child.  [The relative needs to understand that the court already 1193 
ordered this financial obligation when the child was taken into custody, 1194 
and the relative receiving a specified relative grant does not add to the 1195 
financial obligation owhen completing the application, they will indicate 1196 
on the form that assistance is only being requested for the relative child 1197 
so that the income and assets of all members of the household are not 1198 
considered for determining eligibility.]Other DWS benefits for the relative 1199 
will be based on the household income.   1200 

c. A friend may apply for Medicaid through DWS.  Financial and other 1201 
benefits will be based on the household income.  1202 

3. Child’s Unearned Income – Social Security or Supplemental Security Income:  1203 
When a child in Child and Family Services custody receives unearned income, 1204 
such as Social Security or Supplemental Security Income (SSI), Child and Family 1205 
Services will become the representative payee for the child’s income as specified 1206 
in Practice Guidelines Section 303.16. If the child is placed with a non-custodial 1207 
parent, unlicensed relative, or friend not eligible for a foster care payment 1208 
(hereinafter “caregiver”) in a Preliminary Placement, Child and Family Services 1209 
will assess whether a Kinship Caregiver Maintenance Reimbursement will be 1210 
issued to the caregiver from the child’s trust account. 1211 
a. The caregiver will complete the “Division of Child and Family Services 1212 

Kinship Caregiver Maintenance Reimbursement Agreement” form. 1213 
b.      Child and Family Services will issue the kinship caregiver maintenance 1214 

reimbursement to the caregiver from the funds in the child’s trust 1215 
account, up to a maximum of the basic daily foster care rate.  The rate 1216 
paid to the caregiver will be based on the child’s age and the number of 1217 
days the child is in the caregiver’s home.  Thirty-five dollars must be 1218 

http://hspolicy.utah.gov/files/dcfs/DCFS%20Practice%20Guidelines/300-%20Out-of-Home%20Services.pdf
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maintained in the child’s trust account from each monthly deposit.  [See: 1219 
Section 303.16.] 1220 

c. The caseworker is required to access the Trust Account System monthly 1221 
to request the kinship caregiver maintenance reimbursement, as well as 1222 
personal needs funds through the SAFE web system. [See: Section 1223 
303.16.]  1224 

d. Payment will be issued the month after the child received care in the 1225 
caregiver’s home. 1226 

e. This reimbursement is to be used for the maintenance and basic needs of 1227 
the child (such as housing, utilities, food, supervision, and personal 1228 
incidentals). 1229 

f. The caregiver will not be required to provide Child and Family Services 1230 
with receipts for these maintenance and basic needs expenses, once the 1231 
maintenance reimbursement is established. 1232 

g. The caregiver may submit a request for funds to the caseworker to help 1233 
pay for specific additional needs of the child.  Approval is subject to 1234 
availability of funds and administrative approval.  Receipts are required 1235 
for approved expenses. 1236 

h. Child and Family Services will continue to verify the child lives with the 1237 
caregiver. 1238 

i. The caregiver will notify the caseworker if the child no longer resides in 1239 
the home. 1240 

4. Foster Care Payment:  After completion of the foster care licensing process, a 1241 
friend or relative who is selected for ongoing placement of the child will receive 1242 
a foster care payment appropriate for the child’s level of need and the provider’s 1243 
level of training.  1244 

5. Special Needs Payment:  Special needs payments may be made for children who 1245 
are in a Preliminary Placement with a kinship caregiver/friend, according to 1246 
limits for children in out of home care, if other resources are not available to 1247 
meet those needs. 1248 

 1249 
B. Health Care Resources:  A kinship caregiver that is not a licensed foster parent is 1250 

responsible to seek resources to pay for health care for the child while in a Preliminary 1251 
Placement.   1252 
1. Medicaid and Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP): 1253 

a. Child and Family Services eligibility workers cannot issue Medicaid for a 1254 
child who is in a Preliminary Placement with a non-custodial parent or 1255 
relative who is not a licensed foster parent; however, the caseworker is 1256 
still responsible to submit the DCFS Title IV-E and Medicaid Application 1257 
within 30 days after the child is placed in Child and Family Services 1258 
custody (see Practice Guidelines Section 303.9) so an initial Title IV-E 1259 

http://hspolicy.utah.gov/files/dcfs/DCFS%20Practice%20Guidelines/300-%20Out-of-Home%20Services.pdf
http://hspolicy.utah.gov/files/dcfs/DCFS%20Practice%20Guidelines/300-%20Out-of-Home%20Services.pdf
http://hspolicy.utah.gov/files/dcfs/DCFS%20Practice%20Guidelines/300-%20Out-of-Home%20Services.pdf
http://hspolicy.utah.gov/files/dcfs/DCFS%20Practice%20Guidelines/300-%20Out-of-Home%20Services.pdf


Utah’s Division of Child and Family Services   
Kinship   
Practice Guidelines  Revised June 2016 
   
 
 

 31 

eligibility determination can be completed.  Eligibility workers can issue 1260 
Medicaid for a child who is placed in a Preliminary Placement or ongoing 1261 
placement with friend or extended relative who is licensed as a foster 1262 
parent. 1263 

b. A non-custodial parent, relative, or friend may apply for Medicaid or CHIP 1264 
for the child through DWS.  Income and assets of all persons in the 1265 
household will be considered for determining eligibility for the child who 1266 
is placed with a non-custodial parent.  Income and assets of the child only 1267 
will be considered for determining eligibility for a child who is placed with 1268 
a relative or friend.  Medicaid may be requested on the same application 1269 
submitted for financial assistance. 1270 

c. When submitting an application for Medicaid, a non-custodial parent, 1271 
relative, or friend should request that the application for Medicaid be 1272 
retroactive back to the date the child was placed in the home; which is 1273 
allowable for up to 90 days. 1274 

2. Private Medical Insurance:  A non-custodial parent, relative, or friend may be 1275 
able to provide for the child’s health care needs by adding the child to their own 1276 
private medical insurance, when allowed by their insurance plan. 1277 

3. MI706:  An eligibility worker may issue an MI706 to the end of the month 1278 
following the month a child is ordered into Child and Family Services custody, if 1279 
the child is not enrolled in Medicaid when removed from the home.  After that 1280 
time and only as a last resort, the caseworker may request an MI706 from the 1281 
Fostering Healthy Children nurse for specific health care needs of the child and 1282 
for medical, dental, or mental health examinations required by Child and Family 1283 
Services that the non-custodial parent, relative, or friend cannot pay for through 1284 
other available resources.  The non-custodial parent or relative should have 1285 
applied for Medicaid, including requesting retroactive coverage, before an 1286 
MI706 is requested or issued by a nurse.   1287 

 1288 

502.13 Preliminary Placement Visitation 1289 

 1290 
The kinship caregiver/friend will assist in carrying out plans for visitation for the child. 1291 
 1292 
A. Child Visitation with Familial Connections: 1293 

1. Pre-placement Visits with Potential Kinship Caregivers/Friends: If the child is not 1294 
immediately placed in a Preliminary Placement, visitation between the potential 1295 
kinship caregiver/friend and child will be part of a planned transition when it is 1296 
determined that placement with the kinship caregiver/friend is in the best 1297 
interest of the child.  Visitation between the potential kinship caregiver/friend 1298 
and the child may be limited and/or supervised until all requirements for 1299 
Preliminary Placement are met. 1300 
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2. Visitation with Siblings, Parents, and Other Relatives: Visitation for the child with 1301 
parents and siblings will be allowed in accordance with Practice Guidelines 1302 
Section 303.1 when a child is in a Preliminary Placement.  Visitation between the 1303 
child and extended relatives is allowable and may assist in helping the child 1304 
maintain valuable connections with the child’s family.  The Child and Family 1305 
Team will make a determination whether visitation between the child and the 1306 
extended relative is in the best interest of the child before visitation occurs.  1307 
Visitation between the child and extended relative will be individualized to meet 1308 
the needs of the child. 1309 

 1310 
B. Caseworker Visitation with a Child, Kinship Caregiver, and Parents During a Preliminary 1311 

Placement: 1312 
1. The caseworker will have an initial visit with the child by midnight of the second 1313 

day after making the Preliminary Placement.  If the kinship caregiver resides in 1314 
another region, the caseworker may request the caseworker who conducted the 1315 
limited home inspection to make this visit for them.  1316 

2. For the first four weeks of a Preliminary Placement, the caseworker will visit with 1317 
the child at least once per week in the home of the kinship caregiver/friend.   1318 

3. The caseworker will follow Practice Guidelines Section 302.2 regarding 1319 
purposeful visiting with a child, out-of-home caregiver, and parents when a child 1320 
is placed in a Preliminary Placement.   1321 

 1322 

502.14 Preliminary Placement - Child And Family Team 1323 

 1324 
A. Role of the Child and Family Team: 1325 

1. All kinship work is done in the context of a Child and Family Team.  The team is 1326 
identified to bring together critical supports for the family.  This may include the 1327 
biological parents, kinship caregivers/friend, children 12 years of age or older, 1328 
stepparents, other significant persons to family, [and]the tribe/ICWA 1329 
caseworker, health care nurse, therapist, and school representative.  The 1330 
caseworker will engage the kinship caregiver/friend to participate in the Child 1331 
and Family Team. 1332 

2. If the child has Native American heritage and is eligible as a registered tribal 1333 
member, Child and Family Services will establish contact with the tribe/ICWA 1334 
caseworker as early as possible to ensure the tribe is invited to participate in 1335 
Child and Family Team Meetings.  1336 

3. The caseworker will prepare for the unique circumstances of each family prior to 1337 
a Child and Family Team Meeting.  For example, if there are domestic violence 1338 
issues, the caseworker will consider separate Child and Family Team Meetings 1339 
for safety and confidentiality issues, and will prepare in advance to deal with 1340 
barriers, attitudes, relationship issues, safety issues, and legal concerns.  1341 

http://hspolicy.utah.gov/files/dcfs/DCFS%20Practice%20Guidelines/300-%20Out-of-Home%20Services.pdf
http://hspolicy.utah.gov/files/dcfs/DCFS%20Practice%20Guidelines/300-%20Out-of-Home%20Services.pdf
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4. If background screening for a potential kinship caregiver/friend has been denied, 1342 
the caseworker will discuss with the potential kinship caregiver/friend prior to 1343 
the Child and Family Team Meeting, other ways they may support the child and 1344 
their recommendations for another kinship caregiver/friend for Preliminary 1345 
Placement.  The caseworker will not discuss any specific criminal history or child 1346 
abuse findings with the potential kinship caregiver/friend or the Child and Family 1347 
Team but may provide information about how a kinship caregiver/friend may 1348 
obtain a copy of their own criminal history or child abuse and neglect findings. 1349 

 1350 
B. Primary Purposes of Initial Child and Family Team Meeting: 1351 

1. As soon as possible, the caseworker will conduct an initial Child and Family Team 1352 
Meeting.  The initial Child and Family Team Meeting is used for the following: 1353 
a. Sharing how Child and Family Teams work to support the goals of the 1354 

family. 1355 
b. Explaining requirements for a Preliminary Placement. 1356 
c. Gathering information to identify and notify possible kinship/friend 1357 

placements and supports. 1358 
[c]d. Explaining the court process/status. 1359 
[d]e. Explaining roles/responsibilities and how to work with Child and Family 1360 

Services. 1361 
[e]f. Explaining requirements of caring for the child, such as expectations for 1362 

medical, dental, and mental health care examinations. 1363 
[f]g. Explaining the process for evaluation of ongoing capacity of the kinship 1364 

caregiver/friend to care for the child and/or identifying the most 1365 
appropriate relatives or friends to be considered for ongoing placement 1366 
for the child. 1367 

[g]h. Exploring and developing strategies for other members of the Child and 1368 
Family Team to support the kinship caregiver/friend in caring for the child 1369 
and meeting agency requirements. 1370 

2. The Child and Family Team will decide the best ongoing placement for the child 1371 
and identify ways members of the team can support the placement, taking into 1372 
consideration the best interests of the child, preferences for placement, and 1373 
factors that may delay placement or hinder permanency for the child. 1374 

3. For Preliminary Placements made with a friend, the Child and Family Team 1375 
Meeting process outlined in Practice Guidelines Section 502.8 must be followed. 1376 

 1377 
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503  Kinship Services - Evaluation And Support For Ongoing Care Of A 1378 

Child 1379 

 1380 
 1381 
 1382 
 1383 
 1384 
 1385 
 1386 
 1387 
 1388 
 1389 
 1390 
Applicable Law 1391 
Utah Code Ann. §62A-2-120. Criminal background checks – Direct access to children or 1392 
vulnerable adults. 1393 
Utah Code Ann. §62A-4a-202.1. Entering home of a child – Taking a child into protective 1394 
custody – Caseworker accompanied by peace officer – Preventive services – Shelter facility or 1395 
emergency placement. 1396 
Utah Code Ann. §62A-4a-209. Emergency placement. 1397 
Utah Code Ann. §62A-4a Part 7. Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children. 1398 
Utah Code Ann. §78A-6-306. Shelter hearing. 1399 
Utah Code Ann. §78A-6-307. Shelter hearing – Placement – DCFS custody. 1400 
Utah Code Ann. §78A-6-307.5. Post-shelter hearing placement of a child who is in division 1401 
custody. 1402 
Utah Code Ann. §78A-6-308. Criminal background checks necessary prior to out-of-home 1403 
placement. 1404 
U.S. Code Title 25, Chapter 21.  Indian Child Welfare. 1405 
 1406 

503.1  Evaluation Of Kinship Caregiver/Friend Capacity For Ongoing Care 1407 

Of A Child 1408 

 1409 
Child and Family Services will evaluate with the kinship caregiver/friend their capacity for 1410 
ongoing care of the child, including consideration of long-term stability of placement, long-term 1411 
view and permanency planning.  The caseworker will initiate this evaluation process within 30 1412 
days of the child being placed in a Preliminary Placement with a relative.  The process will be 1413 
initiated immediately when a child is placed in a Preliminary Placement with a friend.  The 1414 
process is initiated by submitting a Request for Kinship Support Services to the region kinship 1415 
[home study caseworker]supervisor.  [The kinship home study caseworker in the region where 1416 
the kinship caregiver resides will complete the evaluation.]If the caregiver resides outside of 1417 
the region, the region kinship supervisor will send the request to the kinship supervisor in the 1418 

Major objectives: 
A. Child and Family Services will evaluate with a kinship caregiver/friend their capacity for 

ongoing care of the child. 
 
B. The region in which a kinship caregiver/friend resides will provide support in accessing 

local resources and in responding to urgent concerns. 
 
C. The region with jurisdiction of a child is responsible for supporting limited financial needs 

of the child that cannot be met by the kinship caregiver/friend. 
   

http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter2/62A-2-S120.html?v=C62A-2-S120_1800010118000101
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-S202.1.html?v=C62A-4a-S202.1_1800010118000101
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-S209.html?v=C62A-4a-S209_1800010118000101
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-P7.html?v=C62A-4a-P7_1800010118000101
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title78A/Chapter6/78A-6-S306.html?v=C78A-6-S306_2014040320140513
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title78A/Chapter6/78A-6-S307.html
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title78A/Chapter6/78A-6-S307.5.html
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title78A/Chapter6/78A-6-S308.html
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collectionUScode.action?collectionCode=USCODE&searchPath=Title+25%2FCHAPTER+21&oldPath=Title+25%2FCHAPTER+21&isCollapsed=true&selectedYearFrom=2013&ycord=1432
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region where the kinship caregiver resides to complete the evaluation.  This evaluation consists 1419 
of the following: 1420 
 1421 
A. Background screening: Background screening results from background screening for 1422 

Preliminary Placement and from the Office of Licensing review must be approved for 1423 
ongoing care of a child in custody.  If background screening is not approved, the 1424 
caseworker and Child and Family Team will carefully consider how the child’s needs for 1425 
enduring safety and permanency will be met (long-term view) and what the 1426 
permanency goals, both primary and concurrent, for the child are before recommending 1427 
that the court grant custody and guardianship to a kinship caregiver[/friend]. 1428 

 1429 
B.  The Initial Kinship/Specific Family Application form to be filled out by the kinship 1430 

caregiver/friend includes:  1431 
1. Identifying information regarding the kinship caregiver/friend and the spouse, if 1432 

applicable). 1433 
2. Others living in the household: children of the kinship caregiver/friend or   others 1434 

residing in the home. 1435 
3. References: At least two references and no more than four; only one may be a 1436 

relative. 1437 
4. Previous home studies.  1438 
5. If the kinship caregiver is currently licensed as a daycare provider. 1439 
6. Questionnaire #1 for kinship caregiver and the spouse (if applicable):  History 1440 

regarding the kinship caregiver’s family, relationships, and medical information. 1441 
7. Emergency Plan Form. 1442 
8. Kinship/Specific Income Statement Form.  1443 

 1444 
[B]C. Reference checks: Child and Family Services will contact at least two references by 1445 

[phone and document the calls]email or regular mail using the approved Reference 1446 
Request as part of the Child-Specific Home Study.  [The same type of information 1447 
specified for reference checks for Preliminary Placement will be discussed (see Practice 1448 
Guidelines Section 502.6).]Child and Family Services will receive at least two positive 1449 
reference letters in order to approve the home study. 1450 

 1451 
D. Questionnaire 2: This will be given to the kinship caregiver/friend and the spouse (if 1452 

applicable) at the time of the home study visit and will be completed by the kinship 1453 
caregiver/friend. 1454 

 1455 
[C]E. Child-Specific Home Study: Through Child and Family Team Meetings, interviews, and 1456 

other conversations with the kinship caregiver/friend and others living in the home, the 1457 
kinship home study worker will evaluate the kinship caregiver/friend’s ability to provide 1458 
current and ongoing care for the child.   1459 
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1. The Child-Specific Home Study will be comprehensive, objective, and will address 1460 
the kinship caregiver/friend’s long-term ability to care for the child.  It may be 1461 
used as a home study for a foster care license, as a report to the court for 1462 
recommendations for custody and guardianship, and as an adoption home study 1463 
if the child’s permanency goal changes to adoption. 1464 

2. The Child-Specific Home Study will include an assessment of the home 1465 
environment [and]to evaluate if it meets the Office of Licensing health and 1466 
safety requirements. The Office of Licensing may issue a waiver (variance) of any 1467 
rule in regards to a kinship/specific home that does not impact the health or 1468 
safety of the specific child or sibling group.  This requires prior written approval 1469 
by the director of the Office of Licensing.  [See: Administrative Rule R501-12-1470 
15.]3. The kinship home study caseworker will document the evaluation on the 1471 
Child-Specific Home Study form[(SAFE KBS10)], which when completed will be a 1472 
typed, professional document of approximately 6-12 pages.   The document may 1473 
be presented to the court, if requested.  The Child-Specific Home Study is a 1474 
protected record.  1475 

4. Areas assessed in the Child-Specific Home Study include: 1476 
a. The kinship caregiver/friend’s motivation, understanding, and 1477 

expectations in providing ongoing care for the specific child.    1478 
b.        The kinship caregiver/friend’s relationship with the specific child and how 1479 

this placement was chosen.  1480 
[b]c. Information about the kinship caregiver/friend’s childhood and family of 1481 

origin, including strengths, challenges, and trauma history as it relates to 1482 
their ability to care for this child.  1483 

[c]d. [Current]The kinship [family]caregiver/friend’s [information, 1484 
including]marital relationship, children in the home, extended family 1485 
interactions, [and relationship between the kinship caregiver/friend’s 1486 
family and child, ]supports and barriers, [financial impact, ]proximity to, 1487 
and the nature and quality of the relationship between the biological 1488 
parents and the kinship caregiver/friend. 1489 

[d]e. Parenting skills and attitudes, including the kinship caregiver/friend’s 1490 
methods of discipline for various situations, family’s rules and 1491 
expectations, knowledge and/or skills pertaining to [children with 1492 
challenges or special needs]this child’s specific needs, how kinship 1493 
caregivers /friends support and challenge each other in parenting, 1494 
[kinship caregiver/friend 's]parenting strengths and weaknesses, how 1495 
[the kinship caregiver/friend relieves]they relieve stress, and what coping 1496 
skills the kinship caregiver/friend find[s to be] effective. 1497 

d. Home and neighborhood description, including the [kinship 1498 
caregiver/friend’s home and ]length of time the [family]kinship 1499 
caregiver/friend has lived in the current home, sleeping arrangements for 1500 

http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r501/r501-12.htm#T15
http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r501/r501-12.htm#T15
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the child and other ways the home might accommodate the child’s 1501 
needs, [a description of the neighborhood and]benefits or risks for 1502 
children including people who may have regular access to the child, and a 1503 
list of schools in the area. 1504 

e. [Financial capacity of ]The kinship caregiver/friend’s financial capacity, 1505 
including [the kinship caregiver/friend’s ]occupational information and 1506 
length of time on the job, how the kinship caregiver/friend’s employment 1507 
affects their ability to care for the child in either positive and/or negative 1508 
ways, earnings, and [the kinship caregiver/friend’s]ability to meet their 1509 
own financial needs and needs of the child without being dependent on 1510 
foster care payments.  1511 

f. Kinship caregiver/friend’s current physical and mental health, including 1512 
health conditions, history, medications, and treatment of any family 1513 
member in the home and how these might affect ability to care for the 1514 
child. Both the primary caregiver and the spouse (if applicable) will fill out 1515 
their portion of the approved Office of Licensing Medical form and 1516 
provide this form to their doctor to be completed and faxed back to the 1517 
home study worker.   1518 
 1519 

[D]F. Educating the kinship caregiver/friend:  Concurrently as the Child-Specific Home Study is 1520 
conducted, the kinship home study caseworker will educate the kinship caregiver/friend 1521 
about expectations of caring for a child who is under the jurisdiction of the court, 1522 
including: 1523 
1. Carrying out the orders of the court. 1524 
2. Working toward the child’s permanency goal. 1525 
3. Meeting the needs of the child while in their care. 1526 
4. Being involved in the Child and Family Team process. 1527 
5. Complying with Child and Family Services requirements, such as visits with 1528 

caseworkers, the child’s visits with parents and siblings, maintaining the home-1529 
to-home book, role of the GAL, health care visits, and education. 1530 
 1531 

[E]G. Information about the child will be given to the kinship caregiver/friend:  The 1532 
caseworker and other team members will discuss with the kinship caregiver/friend 1533 
information the caseworker knows about the child and is relevant to the child’s care, 1534 
including medical, dental, education, mental health, and any behavioral issues or special 1535 
needs the child may have.  Best practice is allowing the kinship caregiver/friend an 1536 
opportunity to review the child’s file before making any long-term decisions to care for 1537 
the child.  If the kinship caregiver/friend is a licensed foster parent, refer to Practice 1538 
Guidelines Section 301.4 for details about the information that may be shared with the 1539 
kinship caregiver/friend.   1540 

http://hspolicy.utah.gov/files/dcfs/DCFS%20Practice%20Guidelines/300-%20Out-of-Home%20Services.pdf
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1. The file may have limited information.  However, it is important to share any 1541 
relevant information that may help the relatives decide if they have the skills and 1542 
supports to raise the child.  When a child has an existing file, the caseworker will 1543 
inform the relatives that the information in the file is often subjective opinions of 1544 
the caseworker or therapist written at one time in the child’s life.  In addition, 1545 
circumstances that occur in a given time in the child’s development can change 1546 
the way a child behaves and adjusts to life situations.  For instance, the child may 1547 
have received many different mental health diagnoses.  The mental health 1548 
diagnoses in a child’s file are affected by each therapist’s interpretation, the 1549 
child’s developmental stage, factors in the child’s environment, and different life 1550 
circumstances. 1551 

2. The following guidelines will be used when the potential kinship caregiver/friend 1552 
views the child’s file.  1553 
a. Appropriate information about the child will be shared; however, neither 1554 

the biological parents’ nor prior foster parents’ medical, psychiatric, 1555 
psychological, or other personal information will be disclosed to the 1556 
relative. 1557 

b. Child and Family Services must use prudent judgment in helping a kinship 1558 
caregiver/friend have information about the child that may be important 1559 
for the permanency and stability of the child’s placement.  Parents’ 1560 
confidential information that may be important to caring for a child could 1561 
be shared in general non-identifying ways.  For example, if a parent’s 1562 
psychological diagnosis indicates schizophrenia, this specific information 1563 
about the parent cannot be disclosed to the relatives.  However, 1564 
information regarding schizophrenia in general can be discussed. 1565 

c. Child and Family Services file review guidelines: 1566 
(1) The confidentiality agreement (SAFE form DCFS02)  must be 1567 

signed.  Special care will be given to addressing the sensitive 1568 
nature of confidential information about a child’s family member. 1569 

(2) The caseworker will orient the kinship caregiver/friend to the 1570 
structure of the files and where information is located. 1571 

(3) The caseworker will instruct the kinship caregiver/friend to 1572 
consider specific types of information when available, such as 1573 
medical conditions, developmental delays, disabilities, mental 1574 
health diagnoses, placements and transfers, educational needs, 1575 
and other considerations for the child. 1576 

(4) If a child has an existing file, the kinship caregiver/friend will want 1577 
to look for specific information in the file that will be important in 1578 
caring for the child.  (Red italic script identifies information the 1579 
caseworker will  copy for the kinship caregiver/friend review.)   1580 



Utah’s Division of Child and Family Services   
Kinship   
Practice Guidelines  Revised June 2016 
   
 
 

 39 

(a) Medical Information:  Immunizations, all allergies including 1581 
food allergies, disabilities and treatments, current 1582 
medications and implications of discontinuing 1583 
medications, history of illnesses, conditions from abuse or 1584 
neglect, serious accidents, surgeries, past doctors, and 1585 
hospital of birth. 1586 

(b) Dental Information: Dental records, past dentists, 1587 
orthodontic work, and orthodontist. 1588 

(c) Educational Information: Schools and grades, evaluations, 1589 
special education plans such as Individual Education Plans 1590 
(IEPs) or Student Education and Occupational Plans 1591 
(SEOPs), learning disability including specific disability, and 1592 
test results. 1593 

(d) Mental Health Information: Current and prior therapists 1594 
and history of treatment, current and past medications, 1595 
current and past diagnoses, including what the diagnoses 1596 
means in raising a child.  The kinship caregiver/friend will 1597 
be encouraged to talk directly with the child’s mental 1598 
health therapist when possible about how behaviors are 1599 
connected with the diagnoses and how behaviors are best 1600 
dealt with.   1601 

(e) Family History:  Health Data Report from SAFE, culture, 1602 
family situation, moves or stability factors, abuse and 1603 
neglect history, domestic violence, reason for the child’s 1604 
removal from their biological family, genogram including 1605 
the siblings (with their birth dates), and timelines.  Family 1606 
members’ talents, hobbies, and interests.  Family photos 1607 
and letters, if available. 1608 

d. After the kinship caregiver/friend has looked through the file, the 1609 
caseworker will: 1610 
(1) Talk with the kinship caregiver/friend about what they 1611 

found in the file.  Give them health and mental health 1612 
diagnoses summary sheets, and answer questions they 1613 
may have. 1614 

(2) Share helpful websites such as: 1615 
(a) American Academy of Child & Adolescent 1616 

Psychiatry:  www.aacap.org. 1617 
(b) American Psychological Association:  www.apa.org. 1618 
(c) American Academy of Pediatrics:  www.aap.org. 1619 
(d) Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services 1620 

Administration:  www.samhsa.gov  1621 

http://www.aacap.org/
http://www.apa.org/
http://www.aap.org.c/
http://www.samhsa.gov/
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(3) Give the kinship caregiver/friend time to process what 1622 
they have learned.  Encourage them to set another 1623 
appointment to talk and ask other questions. 1624 

(4) Help the kinship caregiver/friend know the importance of 1625 
keeping the child’s information and history. 1626 

(5) Encourage the kinship caregiver/friend to review the 1627 
child’s file at intervals, especially after the child has been 1628 
with the family for a couple of months. 1629 

3. After disclosure, the caseworker will confirm with the kinship 1630 
caregiver/friend their ability and willingness to become the placement 1631 
option for the child. 1632 

 1633 
[F]H. Assessing Current Supports:  Concurrently as the Child-Specific Home Study is 1634 

conducted, the kinship home study caseworker will help the kinship caregiver/friend 1635 
assess current resources that may be available to assist them in providing a stable 1636 
placement for the child, which may include: 1637 
1. Assistance for a specified relative from DWS for financial assistance (for those 1638 

that fit the definition of a relative). 1639 
2. Health care resources, such as Medicaid, CHIP, or the family’s health insurance.  1640 
3. Caregiver support groups such as the Utah Foster Care cluster groups and 1641 

Grandfamilies. 1642 
4. Informal supports such as community, schools, church, friends, and extended 1643 

family. 1644 
 1645 

[G]I. Ongoing Care of the Child:  If the kinship caregiver/friend who is a licensed foster parent 1646 
was the Preliminary Placement, the caseworker will assess with the kinship 1647 
caregiver/friend and the Child and Family Team the kinship caregiver/friend’s desire and 1648 
ability to provide ongoing care for the child.  1649 

 1650 
[H]J. Licensing or Temporary Custody and Guardianship:  If the kinship caregiver is an 1651 

unlicensed relative, concurrently as the Child-Specific Home Study is conducted, the 1652 
kinship home study caseworker will provide information to the kinship caregiver to 1653 
assist them in assessing and comparing the possible resource supports and 1654 
responsibilities associated with the options of becoming a licensed foster parent or 1655 
requesting temporary custody and guardianship for ongoing care of the child.  If the 1656 
kinship caregiver is a non-custodial parent, the discussion will be limited to 1657 
consideration for requesting temporary custody and guardianship.  If the caregiver is an 1658 
unlicensed friend identified by the parent, they are required to become licensed within 1659 
six months or sooner of the child being placed with them, and Child and Family Services 1660 
may not recommend the[y do not have the] option of taking temporary custody and 1661 
guardianship of the child. 1662 
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1. Discuss with the kinship caregiver/friend the advantages and responsibilities of 1663 
becoming a licensed foster care placement for the child. 1664 
a. Resources and advantages include: 1665 

(1) Monthly foster care payment. 1666 
(2) Medicaid maintained by Child and Family Services to cover 1667 

medical, dental, and mental health needs. 1668 
(3) Child and Family Services Resource Family Consultant help. 1669 
(4) Educational opportunities for meeting the needs of the child. 1670 
(5) Cluster support groups. 1671 
(6) Family’s own informal support network, such as community, 1672 

schools, church, and extended family. 1673 
(7) Respite care 1674 
(8) If the child’s permanency goal changes to adoption, the AAG will 1675 

facilitate a process for termination of parental rights and the child 1676 
will be assessed for monthly adoption assistance. 1677 

b. Requirements to become a licensed foster parent include: 1678 
(1) If married, both kinship caregivers/friends will complete the 1679 

required training provided for kinship caregivers/friends through 1680 
the current contractor for training, recruitment, and retention 1681 
services. 1682 

(2) All licensing requirements must be met including submission of an 1683 
application, financial and medical documentation, obtaining 1684 
written references, questionnaires, and safety home inspection. 1685 

2. Discussing with the kinship caregiver the advantages and responsibilities of 1686 
becoming a kinship caregiver and the process to request temporary custody and 1687 
guardianship of the child from the court.  (Unlicensed friends identified by the 1688 
parents as caregivers for the child [are not eligible]will not be recommended by 1689 
Child and Family Services for temporary custody and guardianship and [are 1690 
required to become]will be given instructions on becoming licensed foster 1691 
parents.)  Resources may include: 1692 
a. Financial assistance for a specified relative (or from public assistance for a 1693 

non-custodial parent) from DWS or child support from ORS. 1694 
b. Medicaid or CHIP for the child or a private health insurance plan of the 1695 

kinship caregiver to cover the child’s medical, dental, and mental health 1696 
needs. 1697 

c. Support groups through the private provider, Grandfamilies, and/or other 1698 
sources.  1699 

d. Family’s own informal support network, such as community, schools, 1700 
church, friends, and extended family. 1701 
 1702 



Utah’s Division of Child and Family Services   
Kinship   
Practice Guidelines  Revised June 2016 
   
 
 

 42 

[I]K. Initiating the Process to Apply to Become a Licensed Foster Parent:  In order for the 1703 
kinship caregiver/friend to apply to become a licensed child-specific foster parent, the 1704 
caseworker or region kinship consultant will [gather the following documents and 1705 
submit to the regional licensor from the Office of Licensing:] follow Practice Guidelines 1706 
Section 503.1 meeting current Utah Office of Licensing requirements.  The region 1707 
kinship supervisor or designated person will send a Request for Licensing a Child Specific 1708 
Foster Home with the home study documentation to the Office of Licensing. 1709 
[1. Foster Parent/Resource Family Application. 1710 
2. Child-Specific Home Study, including Office of Licensing Safety Check and 1711 

documentation of two positive references, completed by the kinship home study 1712 
caseworker. 1713 
3. Kinship Background Screening Application (KBS01) approved by the Office 1714 

of Licensing.] 1715 
 The Office of Licensing will issue a [probationary]provisional license when all of the 1716 

necessary documentation is received from [Child and Family Services]the 1717 
kinship/specific caregiver and will work with the family to complete the licensing 1718 
process.  The caseworker will encourage the family to complete licensing requirements, 1719 
including training, before the [probationary]provisional license expires five months from 1720 
the date of the provisional license being issued. 1721 

 1722 

503.2  Child And Family Services Support Of The Kinship Caregiver/Friend 1723 

While The Child Is In Child And Family Services Custody  1724 

 1725 
A. The region in which the kinship caregiver/friend resides will support the kinship 1726 

caregiver/friend in responding to urgent concerns or accessing local resources (such as 1727 
Medicaid and Specified Relative Grant through DWS, establishing a local Child and 1728 
Family Team or Utah Foster Care clusters).   1729 

 1730 
B. If the kinship caregiver/friend lives in a different region than the region with jurisdiction 1731 

over the child, [a courtesy caseworker will be requested through the associate region 1732 
director to assist with kinship caregiver/friend support]the caseworker/kinship worker 1733 
will send a Request for Kinship Support Services to the kinship supervisor in the sending 1734 
region. The kinship supervisor will send the request to the region kinship supervisor in 1735 
the region where the prospective caregiver resides to complete the evaluation.  1736 

 1737 
C. The region that has jurisdiction for the child is responsible for supporting limited 1738 

financial needs of the child that cannot be met by the kinship caregiver/friend (such as 1739 
mileage, special needs payments, or MI706). 1740 

 1741 
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504  Kinship Background Screening Process 1742 

 1743 
 1744 
 1745 
 1746 
 1747 
 1748 
 1749 
 1750 
 1751 
 1752 
 1753 
 1754 
 1755 
 1756 
 1757 
 1758 
 1759 
 1760 
 1761 
 1762 
Applicable Law 1763 
Utah Code Ann. §62A-2-120. Criminal background checks – Direct access to children or 1764 
vulnerable adults. 1765 
Utah Code Ann. §62A-4a-202.1. Entering home of a child – Taking a child into protective 1766 
custody – Caseworker accompanied by peace officer – Preventive services – Shelter facility or 1767 
emergency placement. 1768 
Utah Code Ann. §62A-4a-209. Emergency placement. 1769 
Utah Code Ann. §62A-4a Part 7. Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children. 1770 
Utah Code Ann. §78A-6-306. Shelter hearing. 1771 
Utah Code Ann. §78A-6-307. Shelter hearing – Placement – DCFS custody. 1772 
Utah Code Ann. §78A-6-307.5. Post-shelter hearing placement of a child who is in division 1773 
custody. 1774 
Utah Code Ann. §78A-6-308. Criminal background checks necessary prior to out-of-home 1775 
placement. 1776 
U.S. Code Title 25, Chapter 21.  Indian Child Welfare. 1777 
 1778 

Major objectives: 
A. Child and Family Services is authorized to conduct background screening for the purpose 

of assessing safety and threat of harm to a child when considering Preliminary Placement 
with a kinship caregiver for a child in agency custody. 

 
B. Child and Family Services will coordinate with the Office of Licensing to complete the 

background screening process for a kinship caregiver after Preliminary Placement has 
been made. 

 
C. A region Terminal Agency Coordinator (TAC) or alternate will complete background 

screening and will do an initial analysis of results.  
 
D. A region background screening committee will be established in each region to review 

background screening for Preliminary Placement. 
 
E. Background screening results will be safeguarded and disseminated only to those 

authorized to receive the information, in accordance with the Bureau of Criminal 
Identification (BCI) policies. 

http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter2/62A-2-S120.html?v=C62A-2-S120_1800010118000101
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-S202.1.html?v=C62A-4a-S202.1_1800010118000101
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-S209.html?v=C62A-4a-S209_1800010118000101
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-P7.html?v=C62A-4a-P7_1800010118000101
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title78A/Chapter6/78A-6-S306.html?v=C78A-6-S306_2014040320140513
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title78A/Chapter6/78A-6-S307.html
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title78A/Chapter6/78A-6-S307.5.html
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title78A/Chapter6/78A-6-S308.html
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/browse/collectionUScode.action?collectionCode=USCODE&searchPath=Title+25%2FCHAPTER+21&oldPath=Title+25%2FCHAPTER+21&isCollapsed=true&selectedYearFrom=2013&ycord=1432
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504.1  Kinship Background Screening Process – Authority And Uses 1779 

 1780 
A. Authority: 1781 

1. The BCI within the Department of Public Safety maintains criminal records in 1782 
Utah.  Child and Family Services accesses both Utah and national fingerprint-1783 
based criminal records through BCI in accordance with federal and state laws 1784 
and BCI policies. 1785 

2. Utah Code Ann. §62A-4a-202.4, §62A-4a-209, §78A-6-307, and §78A-6-308 1786 
authorize Child and Family Services to complete background screening for 1787 
potential kinship caregiver/friends of children in custody. 1788 

3. The Office of Licensing will complete the background screening process for 1789 
kinship caregiver/friends after Child and Family Services has conducted the non-1790 
fingerprint-based check for Preliminary Placement. 1791 

 1792 
B. Uses of Background Screening Results in Kinship Care: 1793 

1. Background screening conducted by the TAC/alternate or reviewed by the 1794 
Region Background Screening Committee is used to help assess safety and threat 1795 
of harm to a child for the purpose of approving or denying a Preliminary 1796 
Placement. 1797 

2. Background screening conducted by Office of Licensing is used to help confirm 1798 
the appropriateness of a Preliminary Placement and as part of the Child-Specific 1799 
Home Study and safety assessment for evaluation of a kinship caregiver/friend’s 1800 
capacity for ongoing care of the child.  Office of Licensing background screening 1801 
results may also be used for the purpose of a foster care license, subsequent 1802 
adoption (if within 18 months of when the background screening was originally 1803 
approved and there is no reason to believe the background screening is 1804 
incomplete), or for a recommendation to the court for temporary custody and 1805 
guardianship. 1806 

 1807 

504.2  Kinship Background Screening Process – Expedited Request For 1808 

Initial Background Screening For Preliminary Placement 1809 

 1810 
A caseworker may request to expedite the initial background screening for Preliminary 1811 
Placement verbally.  Steps to expedite background screening include: 1812 
 1813 
A. The caseworker will obtain and write down the following information for the kinship 1814 

caregiver/friend and for all adults age 18 years and older residing in the home on the 1815 
Expedited Background Screening for Preliminary Placement form (SAFE KBS00): 1816 
1. Name, including correct spelling of first, middle, last, maiden, alias, and previous 1817 

married names. 1818 
2. Social Security number, if a number has been issued. 1819 

http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-S202.4.html?v=C62A-4a-S202.4_1800010118000101
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-S209.html?v=C62A-4a-S209_1800010118000101
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title78A/Chapter6/78A-6-S307.html
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title78A/Chapter6/78A-6-S308.html
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3. Date of birth. 1820 
4. Relationship to the child. 1821 

 1822 
B. The caseworker will view the photo identification of the kinship caregiver[/friend] and 1823 

other adults age 18 years and older in the home to ensure the photo is of the same 1824 
individual, and spelling of name, date of birth, and if listed, Social Security number are 1825 
correct.  The caseworker will also verify that the ID is not expired.  Driver privilege cards 1826 
and school IDs are not acceptable identification.  The caseworker will document on the 1827 
form that this has been completed. 1828 

 1829 
C. The caseworker will have the kinship caregiver/friend and each adult review and sign 1830 

the form to verify that the information is correct and that Child and Family Services is 1831 
authorized to conduct background screening for the purpose of Preliminary Placement. 1832 

 1833 
D. The caseworker will request initial background screening for Preliminary Placement 1834 

through an authorized TAC or designated alternate. 1835 
1. For on-call background screenings for Preliminary Placements, contact Intake  1836 
2. If a request is made after hours to Intake, background screening documentation 1837 

will be sent the next business day by the caseworker who requested the 1838 
background screening to the TAC/alternate in the region where the kinship 1839 
caregiver/friend resides.  The TAC/alternate in the sending region may retain a 1840 
copy of the documentation in a locked file for audit purposes.  1841 

3. The Intake worker who completed the background screening will document in a 1842 
dissemination log that the background screening was completed. 1843 
 1844 

E. The caseworker will provide the identifying information to the TAC/alternate by phone, 1845 
email through state email, fax, or in person. 1846 
1. The caseworker will give the TAC/alternate the name of the child being 1847 

considered for placement and, if known, the child’s date of birth, SAFE case 1848 
number if a case is open, and if an out of region request, the caseworker’s region 1849 
and kinship caregiver/friend’s region of residence. 1850 

2. The caseworker will give the TAC/alternate the information provided by the 1851 
kinship caregiver/friend for all adults in the home, including the correct spelling 1852 
for all names, and will verify to the TAC/alternate that each of the adults in the 1853 
home signed the Expedited Background Screening for Preliminary Placement 1854 
form. 1855 

3. As follow-up to a verbal, emailed, or faxed request, the caseworker will send the 1856 
TAC the original Expedited Background Screening for Preliminary Placement 1857 
form signed by the kinship caregiver/friend and adults in the home and by the 1858 
caseworker. 1859 
 1860 
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F. The caseworker will notify the kinship caregiver/friend that this expedited background 1861 
screening is preliminary and that the kinship caregiver/friend and other adults age 18 1862 
years and older in the home must also complete additional background screening 1863 
requirements to complete the process (see Practice Guidelines Section 504.3).  1864 

 1865 
G. The TAC/alternate may notify the caseworker verbally if the background screening was 1866 

approved, needs further review, is denied, or could not be completed based upon the 1867 
verbal information presented.  Specific details may be provided according to 1868 
dissemination policies in practice guideline Section 504.11. 1869 

 1870 
H. If the result of the background screening is a mandatory denial then the TAC/alternate 1871 

will send a denial letter to the applicant. 1872 
 1873 
 1874 

504.3  Kinship Background Screening Process – Initiating Background 1875 

Screening For Preliminary Placements And Ongoing Care 1876 

 1877 

The following steps are required before the kinship caregiver[/friend] background screening is 1878 
complete.  If expedited background screening was used, these steps are required as follow-up 1879 
to the expedited process.  If expedited background screening was not used, these steps will 1880 
initiate ongoing background screening. 1881 
 1882 
A. Caseworker Responsibilities: 1883 

1. The caseworker is responsible to ensure that required background screening is 1884 
completed for all adults in the home.  Another caseworker, such as a supervisor, 1885 
region kinship consultant, or senior assistant caseworker, may assist with the 1886 
tasks described below. 1887 

2. The caseworker will notify the kinship caregiver[/friend] of background screening 1888 
requirements and processes. 1889 

3. The caseworker will print the Kinship Background Screening Application (SAFE 1890 
KBS01) from SAFE and will write on Page Two of the application the caseworker 1891 
name and child’s name, date of birth, and SAFE case number. 1892 

4. The caseworker will make copies of the application for the kinship 1893 
caregiver[/friend] and all persons age 18 and older living in the home and will 1894 
provide them written instructions for completing the background screening 1895 
process, including how to access Live Scan or to submit hard copy fingerprint 1896 
cards.  1897 

5. The caseworker will follow up to ensure the application and fingerprints were 1898 
submitted. 1899 
 1900 
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B. Kinship Caregiver[/friend] Responsibilities: 1901 
1. The kinship caregiver[/friend] and each adult age 18 years or older residing in 1902 

the home must obtain the Kinship Background Screening Application (SAFE 1903 
KBS01) from the caseworker, complete the application following instructions on 1904 
the form, submit copies of photo identification and Social Security cards, and 1905 
bring it to the Child and Family Services office. 1906 

2.  The kinship caregiver[/friend and spouse]and any other adults age 18 years and 1907 
older living in the home must submit fingerprints for an FBI national criminal 1908 
records check[ any other person age 18 years and older residing in the home of 1909 
the kinship caregiver/friend]. 1910 
a. Fingerprints may be submitted using Live Scan at Child and Family 1911 

Services offices, following the procedures described below.  The kinship 1912 
caregiver[/friend] or adults in the home are responsible to pay the fee for 1913 
scanning the prints. 1914 

b. Fingerprints may be submitted using hard copy fingerprint cards, 1915 
following the procedures described below.  The kinship caregiver[/friend] 1916 
or adults in the home are responsible to pay the fee for having the prints 1917 
rolled by a law enforcement agency or BCI and to pay the transmitting 1918 
fee for scanning the fingerprint cards.[to the Department of Public Safety 1919 
to submit the hard copy cards to the FBI.] 1920 

c. Live Scan or submission of fingerprint cards must be completed no later 1921 
than 10 business days after the child’s placement in the home. 1922 

 1923 
C. Live Scan Process: 1924 

1. Live Scan Operators.  Live Scan operators are designated by the region and must 1925 
receive training on scanning fingerprints and submitting Live Scan data from 1926 
qualified persons, such as BCI trainers or other qualified Live Scan operators.  1927 
The region will notify the Background Screening Coordinator at the State Office 1928 
when making a change in Live Scan operators.  Live Scan operators are 1929 
responsible to verify applicant identity and to electronically scan and submit 1930 
fingerprints of background screening applicants to the BCI. 1931 

2. Live Scan Appointment.  Persons required to have a fingerprint-based 1932 
background screening will schedule an appointment for Live Scan by phone in 1933 
advance.  The Kinship Background Screening Application (SAFE KBS01) must be 1934 
completed prior to the appointment. 1935 

3. What Individuals Must Bring for Live Scan.  Persons required to have a 1936 
fingerprint-based background screening will bring the following with them to 1937 
their Live Scan appointment: 1938 
a. Original Kinship Background Screening Application (SAFE KBS01) 1939 

completed and signed. 1940 
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b. Photo Identification.  This must be a current photo identification issued 1941 
by a state or federal government such as a driver license or identification 1942 
card issued by Department of Motor Vehicles or issued by the United 1943 
States government such as a passport.  School identification and driver 1944 
privilege cards are not acceptable.  If no United States identification is 1945 
available, current photo identification issued by the government of 1946 
another country may be used.  If photo identification has expired, Live 1947 
Scan cannot be completed. 1948 

c. Social Security card, if available at time of appointment. 1949 
d. Fee to scan the prints.  Each person is required to pay a fee to have 1950 

fingerprints scanned.  Payments must be by cashier’s check or money 1951 
order payable to Department of Human Services.  Some offices also 1952 
accept cash.  1953 

4. Live Scan Process.  The Live Scan operator will complete the following steps for 1954 
the Live Scan process: 1955 
a. Prepare the Live Scan Authorization Form. 1956 
b. Hand out a copy of the FBI Privacy Rights to the Live Scan applicant. 1957 
c. Receive payment. 1958 
d. Verify and make an enlarged, clear copy of photo identification and Social 1959 

Security card.  (If expiration date or corrections are listed on back, copy 1960 
both sides of identification.) 1961 

e. Document Live Scan billing code, Live Scan operator’s initials, and date of 1962 
Live Scan submission on the [upper left-hand corner]second page of the 1963 
Kinship Background Screening Application. 1964 

f. Send the original Kinship Background Screening Application and a clear 1965 
copy of both sides of photo identification and Social Security card to the 1966 
regional TAC[/alternate].   1967 

g. [Fax]Scan and email a copy of the Live Scan Authorization Form to the 1968 
Background Screening Coordinator. 1969 
 1970 

D. Hard Copy Fingerprint Card Process: 1971 
1. Obtain Copy of Fingerprint Cards:  If any persons who need a fingerprint-based 1972 

check do not have access to a Child and Family Services Live Scan location, they 1973 
[will obtain from the caseworker two sets of 10-print fingerprint cards that 1974 
indicate the region’s authorization code and identifying information.  The 1975 
caseworker can get these cards from the TAC/alternate.]can submit two hard 1976 
copy 10-print fingerprint cards.  Each person is responsible to go to a law 1977 
enforcement agency or other agency approved by the BCI to have their 1978 
fingerprints rolled on a 10-print fingerprint card.  Each person is responsible to 1979 
pay the cost charged by the agency to have the fingerprint rolled.  Photo 1980 
identification will be required. 1981 
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[2. Rolling of Fingerprint Cards:  Each person is responsible to go to a law 1982 
enforcement agency or other agency approved by the BCI to have their 1983 
fingerprints rolled on the 10-print fingerprint cards.  Each person is responsible 1984 
to pay the cost charged by the agency to have the fingerprints rolled.  Photo 1985 
identification will be required.] 1986 

[3]2. Submission of the Fingerprint Cards and Payment for Submission: 1987 
a. The kinship caregiver[/friend]or adult in the home will submit to the 1988 

caseworker the Kinship Background Screening Application (SAFE KBS01), 1989 
copy of photo identification, Social Security card, two sets of fingerprint 1990 
cards, Live Scan Authorization Form, and payment for fee to scan and 1991 
transmit the fingerprint cards.[the FBI background screening for each 1992 
adult age 18 years and older in the home that is required to have a 1993 
fingerprint-based check.  A separate cashier’s check or money order 1994 
payable to the Department of Public Safety will be submitted for each 1995 
person for the current required fee.  Child and Family Services will copy 1996 
photo identification and Social Security cards for each person whose 1997 
fingerprint cards are submitted.] 1998 

b. The caseworker will give the application, fingerprint cards, copies of 1999 
photo identification and Social Security card, Live Scan Authorization 2000 
Form, and payments to the region TAC[/alternate]. 2001 

c. The region TAC[/alternate] will submit [the fingerprints and payment to 2002 
the BCI at the Department of Public Safety.]all of the above paperwork, 2003 
except the payment, to the State Office background screening 2004 
coordinator.  2005 

[4. Fingerprint cards may be required as a follow-up to Live Scan if the electronic 2006 
scan cannot capture a high enough quality print or if BCI or the FBI rejects the 2007 
submitted fingerprints.] 2008 
 2009 

504.4  Conducting Background Screening – TAC/Alternate 2010 

 2011 
The region director will designate the region’s TAC and any alternates.  Each TAC/alternate 2012 
must receive approval and training to conduct background screening through the Background 2013 
Screening Coordinator at the Child and Family Services State Office and through BCI, and must 2014 
have an approved fingerprint-based national criminal history check submitted through BCI to 2015 
the FBI. 2016 
 2017 
The TAC/alternate will conduct background screening for each kinship caregiver[/friend] and 2018 
adult age 18 years and older in the home (referred to below as “applicant”) to identify if an 2019 
adult or child abuse or neglect finding or criminal history record exists for each applicant.  2020 
 2021 
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A. Verify Identity: The TAC/alternate will make a “good faith” effort to determine that the 2022 
identification and information submitted for each applicant is valid and does not appear 2023 
to be forged or altered, based upon review of the applicant information on [the Kinship 2024 
Background Screening Application (SAFE KBS01)]any background screening application 2025 
submitted and photo identification.  If background screening for a Preliminary 2026 
Placement is being conducted based upon an expedited verbal request, the effort to 2027 
verify identity will be completed based upon information available in data systems and 2028 
upon post-screening review of the application and photo identification after submission 2029 
by the caseworker or Live Scan operator.  2030 

 2031 
B. Child Abuse and Criminal Record Checks: The TAC/alternate will research the systems 2032 

listed below, in accordance with laws and policies authorizing Child and Family Services 2033 
to access these records, to determine if an applicant has child or adult abuse or neglect 2034 
findings or a criminal history. 2035 
1. Preliminary Placement Background Screening - Utah Criminal Justice Information 2036 

System (UCJIS): 2037 
a. UCJIS is searched to determine if the applicant has criminal convictions or 2038 

patterns of arrests or convictions that indicate a likely threat [of harm 2039 
to]to safety of a child.  Analysis will be based upon statutory criteria 2040 
specified in Utah Code Ann. §62A-2-120. 2041 

b. [UCJIS]Utah Criminal History reports are run with a purpose code X if the 2042 
background screening is occurring BEFORE the shelter hearing and the 2043 
[child’s]child is in the custody of Child and Family Services.  The SAFE case 2044 
number will be entered into the audit field.  If no SAFE case number has 2045 
been established, enter 111 (number one repeated three times) and the 2046 
child’s name in the audit field.  Purpose code C is used if the background 2047 
screening is occurring AFTER the shelter hearing or if child is not yet in 2048 
the custody of Child and Family Services. 2049 

2.  Preliminary Placement Background Screening – SAFE Management Information 2050 
System and Licensing Information System:  The SAFE Management Information 2051 
System and Licensing Information System is searched for the following: 2052 
a. To determine if the applicant has findings of a severe type of child abuse 2053 

or neglect as defined in Utah Code Ann. §62A-4a-1002 accessible in the 2054 
LIS portion of SAFE, or if other child welfare or domestic violence case 2055 
history or patterns of behavior may pose a likely threat [of harm to]to the 2056 
safety of a child.   2057 

b. To determine if the applicant has findings of adult abuse. 2058 
3. Preliminary Placement Background Screening-Juvenile Criminal History: 2059 

a.   To determine if the applicant has juvenile criminal convictions or patterns 2060 
of arrests or convictions that indicate a likely threat to safety of a child.   2061 

http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter2/62A-2-S120.html?v=C62A-2-S120_1800010118000101
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-S1002.html?v=C62A-4a-S1002_1800010118000101/
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Analysis will be based upon statutory criteria specified in Utah Code Ann. 2062 
§62A-2-120.   2063 

4. Preliminary Placement Background Screening-Federal Name Based Check 2064 
through Interstate Identification Index (III): 2065 
a. This check only applies for an expedited background screening on a 2066 

kinship caregiver friend if the background screening is occurring BEFORE 2067 
the shelter hearing as per emergency statute §62A-4a-209. 2068 

b. To determine if the applicant has criminal convictions or patterns of 2069 
arrests or convictions that indicate a likely threat to safety of a child.  2070 
Analysis will be based upon statutory criteria specified in Utah Code Ann. 2071 
§62A-2-120. 2072 

5. Preliminary Placement Background Screening-Fingerprint-Based: 2073 
a. This check applies for a preliminary placement with a kinship caregiver 2074 

friend when placing with a friend AFTER shelter hearing as per shelter 2075 
hearing statute §78A-6-307. 2076 

b. Fingerprint-based FBI national criminal history records are checked to 2077 
determine if the applicant has criminal convictions or patterns of 2078 
convictions that indicate a likely threat to safety of a child.  Analysis will 2079 
be based upon statutory criteria specified in Utah Code Ann. §62A-2-120. 2080 

[3]6. Completing Ongoing Background Screening – Fingerprint-Based Check:   2081 
a. If fingerprinting has not already occurred, fingerprint-based FBI national 2082 

criminal history records are checked to determine if the applicant has 2083 
criminal convictions or patterns of convictions that indicate a likely threat 2084 
[of harm to]to the safety of a child.  Analysis will be based upon statutory 2085 
criteria specified in Utah Code Ann. §62A-2-120.  2086 

b. Live Scan results of multi-state and FBI national criminal history records 2087 
are accessed through BCI/Applicant Background Checks (ABC) Webpage, 2088 
which may include obtaining hard copy reports. 2089 
(1) If the Live Scan results are “approved,” no history exists.   2090 
(2) If the Live Scan results indicate “research,” the TAC/alternate 2091 

must wait for either a result of “approved, pending, or needs 2092 
agency review” to determine if a criminal history exists.   2093 

(3) If Live Scan results indicate “pending or needs agency review,” a 2094 
criminal history may exist and a hard copy report must be 2095 
obtained by printing the report from the BCI/ABC Webpage to 2096 
determine if background screening is approved or denied.   2097 

c. If fingerprints were submitted on 10-print fingerprint cards, results will 2098 
be accessed through the BCI/ABC Webpage. 2099 

[4]7. Completing Ongoing Background Screening – Interstate Child Abuse Registry 2100 
Checks: 2101 

http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter2/62A-2-S120.html?v=C62A-2-S120_1800010118000101
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-S209.html?v=C62A-4a-S209_2016051020160510
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter2/62A-2-S120.html?v=C62A-2-S120_2016051020160510
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title78A/Chapter6/78A-6-S307.html?v=C78A-6-S307_2015051220150512
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter2/62A-2-S120.html?v=C62A-2-S120_2016051020160510
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter2/62A-2-S120.html?v=C62A-2-S120_1800010118000101
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a. Out of State Child Abuse Registry checks will be conducted for each state 2102 
in which an applicant resided in the previous five years to determine if 2103 
the applicant has findings of a severe type of child abuse or neglect that 2104 
are consistent with those defined in Utah Code Ann. §62A-4a-1002 or if 2105 
other child welfare case history or patterns of behavior may pose a threat 2106 
of harm to a child. 2107 

b. The TAC/alternate will complete and submit the paperwork and any 2108 
payments required for the specific state, and if necessary work with the 2109 
applicant to obtain state-specific paperwork from them. 2110 
 2111 

504.5  Conducting Background Screening – Office Of Licensing 2112 

 2113 
A. As the authority to conduct background screening for prospective foster and adoptive 2114 

homes, the Office of Licensing will conduct background screening for kinship 2115 
caregiver[/friends] and other adults age 18 years and older in the home after Child and 2116 
Family Services has completed background screening for Preliminary Placement. 2117 

 2118 
B. The regional TAC will compile the background screening application, reports, 2119 

documentation submitted by the applicant for review, verify or attach copies of photo 2120 
identification and Social Security cards for each kinship caregiver[/friend] and other 2121 
adults age 18 and older in the home, and will submit these to the Child and Family 2122 
Services background screening coordinator. 2123 

 2124 
C. The Child and Family Services Background Screening Coordinator will check the 2125 

paperwork submitted, log information received, and submit it to the Office of Licensing 2126 
background screening coordinator. 2127 

  2128 
D. The Office of Licensing background screening coordinator will return the approved or 2129 

denied background screening application to the Child and Family Services Background 2130 
Screening Coordinator, and the coordinator will return the approved or denied 2131 
background screening application to the regional TAC.   2132 

 2133 
E. The regional TAC will disseminate information from the Office of Licensing Screening 2134 

according to Practice Guidelines Section 504.11. 2135 
 2136 
F. If the kinship caregiver does not have a Social Security Number or an ID that would be 2137 

accepted by the Office of Licensing, a variance of Rule 501-14-3 through Office of 2138 
Licensing may be requested by submitting the Kinship Background Screening Application 2139 
(KBS01) with supporting documentation to the region TAC.  The region TAC will submit 2140 
the paperwork to the State Office Background Screening Coordinator, who will 2141 
coordinate with the Office of Licensing to determine if the information submitted is 2142 

http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-S1002.html?v=C62A-4a-S1002_1800010118000101/
http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/code/r501/r501-14.htm#T3
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sufficient enough to verify identity.  The Office of Licensing will determine if the variance 2143 
will be accepted. 2144 

 2145 

504.6  Analysis Of Background Screening Results 2146 

 2147 
The TAC/alternate will complete an initial analysis of the background screening results to 2148 
determine: 2149 
  2150 
A. No Criminal History or Child/Adult Abuse or Neglect Findings:  If the TAC/alternate finds 2151 

NO history from any of the management information systems or hard copy reports, the 2152 
TAC/alternate will approve the background screening. 2153 

 2154 
B. Criminal History or Abuse or Neglect Findings That Require Mandatory Denial: 2155 

1. If the TAC/alternate identifies criminal records that require mandatory denial 2156 
based upon Utah Code Ann. §62A-2-120, the TAC/alternate may deny 2157 
background screening or may staff the report with [a member of ]the Region 2158 
Background Screening Committee Chairperson, Background Screening 2159 
Coordinator, or Kinship Program Administrator to verify accuracy of the decision 2160 
before denying the background screening. 2161 

2. A child will not be placed in a Preliminary Placement if criminal history requires 2162 
mandatory denial.  If there is any question about mandatory denial for a 2163 
Preliminary Placement, the TAC/alternate will refer the background screening to 2164 
the Region Background Screening Committee Chairperson, Background 2165 
Screening Coordinator, or Kinship Program Administrator for review and for a 2166 
decision to approve or deny background screening for Preliminary Placement. 2167 

3. If the result of the background screening is a mandatory denial, the 2168 
TAC/alternate will send a denial letter to the applicant.  2169 
 2170 

C. Criminal History or Abuse or Neglect Findings That May Be Approved Without Review:  2171 
1. If the TAC/alternate identifies child abuse or criminal records that do not require 2172 

mandatory denial or that do not fall within the crime or abuse categories or time 2173 
periods that are subject to review, based upon Utah Code Ann. §62A-2-120, or 2174 
severe types of child abuse or neglect records based upon Utah Code Ann. §62A-2175 
4a-1002, the TAC/alternate may approve the background screening or may staff 2176 
the results with a member of the Region Background Screening Committee, 2177 
Background Screening Coordinator, or Kinship Program Administrator before 2178 
approving the background screening.   2179 

2. If there is any question about being able to approve the background screening 2180 
without review, the TAC/alternate will refer the background screening to the 2181 
Region Background Screening Committee for review and for a decision to 2182 
approve or deny background screening for Preliminary Placement.   2183 

http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter2/62A-2-S120.html?v=C62A-2-S120_1800010118000101
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter2/62A-2-S120.html?v=C62A-2-S120_1800010118000101
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-S1002.html?v=C62A-4a-S1002_1800010118000101/
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-S1002.html?v=C62A-4a-S1002_1800010118000101/


Utah’s Division of Child and Family Services   
Kinship   
Practice Guidelines  Revised June 2016 
   
 
 

 54 

 2184 
D. Criminal History or Abuse or Neglect Findings Requiring Further Review Before Approval 2185 

or Denial of Background Screening Can Be Determined:  If the TAC/alternate identifies 2186 
child or adult abuse or criminal records that do not require mandatory denial but fall 2187 
within the crime or abuse categories or time periods that are subject to review based 2188 
upon Utah Code Ann. §62A-2-120, or severe types of child abuse or neglect records 2189 
based upon Utah Code Ann. §62A-4a-1002, the TAC/alternate will refer the background 2190 
screening to the Region Background Screening Committee for review and for a decision 2191 
to approve or deny the background screening for Preliminary Placement. 2192 

 2193 

504.7  Documentation Of Results 2194 

 2195 
A. Documentation of Results on Expedited Kinship Background Screening Form:   2196 

1. The TAC/alternate will document on the Expedited Kinship Background 2197 
Screening form either “yes” or “no” for existence of child abuse or neglect 2198 
findings or a criminal history, regardless of whether or not the history affects 2199 
approval of the placement.  Each entry will be initialed and dated by the 2200 
TAC/alternate.   2201 

2. In addition, the TAC/alternate will document on the Expedited Kinship 2202 
Background Screening form the results of the initial analysis, indicating approved 2203 
for no history, approved for records not subject to review, mandatory denial, or 2204 
records requiring review.  This entry will be initialed and dated by the 2205 
TAC/alternate.  No specific details of findings or history will be written on the 2206 
application. Records will be retained for five years. 2207 

 2208 
 2209 

B   Region Background Screening Committee:  A decision by the Region Background 2210 
Screening Committee to approve or deny a background screening application will be 2211 
documented by the TAC on the Expedited Kinship Background Screening form with 2212 
notes of the committee discussion attached to the original application.  No specific 2213 
details of findings or history will be written on the Kinship Background Screening form or 2214 
committee report.  Records will be retained for five years. 2215 

 2216 
C. Supporting Documentation:   2217 

1. Supporting documentation will be attached to the original Kinship Background 2218 
Screening Application (KBS01) and submitted to the Office of Licensing for their 2219 
background screening. Supporting documentation will include Livescan reports 2220 
and may include out of state child abuse registry checks, original/certified court 2221 
dockets, police reports, etc. The TAC[/alternate] will store a copy of the 2222 
application and reports in a locked file.  Records will be retained for five years.   2223 

http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter2/62A-2-S120.html?v=C62A-2-S120_1800010118000101
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-S1002.html?v=C62A-4a-S1002_1800010118000101/
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2. If fingerprints were submitted through Live Scan, the TAC/alternate will print 2224 
Live Scan results with the applicant’s identifying information from the BCI/ABC 2225 
webpage results: 2226 
a. Approved. 2227 
b. Pending/Needs Agency Review.  Pending/Needs Agency Review indicates 2228 

this person may have a criminal history.  The hard copy report from Live 2229 
Scan when Pending/Needs Agency Review is reported will be printed by 2230 
the TAC/alternate from the ABC webpage. The original hard copy report 2231 
must be included as supporting documentation for the background 2232 
screening, even if the report indicates there is no criminal history.   2233 

3. Ten-print fingerprint card results scanned in through the Livescan machine will 2234 
be accessible through the BCI/ABC Webpage.  Repeat process 2 from above.  The 2235 
original hard copy report from the 10-print fingerprint check must be included as 2236 
supporting documentation, even if the report indicates there is no criminal 2237 
history. 2238 
 2239 

504.8  Follow-Up Action For No Disposition, Outstanding Warrant, Or 2240 

Review 2241 

  2242 

A. If the criminal history record reports no disposition, an outstanding warrant, or if the 2243 
background screening report is subject to review by the Region Background Screening 2244 
Committee, Child and Family Services will give the individual an opportunity to provide 2245 
additional documentation before making a decision to deny the background screening.   2246 

 2247 
B. A fingerprint-based check will have been completed to verify that the record being 2248 

considered belongs to the applicant.   2249 
 2250 
C. The TAC/alternate will send a notice to inform the applicant that: 2251 

1. The applicant’s criminal history or findings of abuse or neglect require further 2252 
review. 2253 

2. The applicant is encouraged to submit a written statement about the applicant’s 2254 
age and circumstances under which the offense or incident occurred and to 2255 
document rehabilitation, counseling, or psychiatric treatment received, 2256 
additional academic or vocational schooling completed since the offense, or 2257 
other information that the applicant believes is important for the review.   2258 

3. The applicant will obtain court documentation to show final disposition of any 2259 
reports for which disposition was not available and documentation that 2260 
outstanding warrants have been resolved.  2261 

4. All additional information requested from the applicant must be received by 2262 
Child and Family Services within 30 calendar days of the written notice. 2263 
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5. The review being conducted by the regional committee is for the purpose of 2264 
Preliminary Placement, and another background screening review may be 2265 
required by the Office of Licensing as part of evaluation of their ongoing capacity 2266 
to care for the child required by state law. 2267 

6. When requested by a caseworker, the regional committee may review the 2268 
background screening results for babysitting, visitation, or daycare purposes. 2269 
 2270 

504.9  Review Of History By The Region Kinship Background Screening 2271 

Committee For Preliminary Placement 2272 

 2273 
A. When an applicant has a history or findings of abuse or neglect or criminal convictions 2274 

that require review before a decision can be made for Preliminary Placement, the 2275 
Region Background Screening Committee will conduct the review.  The caseworker 2276 
and/or supervisor may attend the committee meeting to provide pertinent information 2277 
from their assessment of safety but may not be voting members of the background 2278 
screening committee to approve or deny the background screening.   2279 

 2280 
B. The region will designate specific members to form a Region Background Screening 2281 

Committee, consisting of designated professional staff and alternates who have been 2282 
trained in specific rules, statutes, Practice Guidelines, and committee protocol.  Eight 2283 
members are recommended.  Members of the committee may include the region 2284 
director, associate region director, program or child welfare administrators, 2285 
caseworkers, supervisors, resource family consultants, or clinical consultants. 2286 

 2287 
C. Each member of the Region Background Screening Committee will receive training on 2288 

the role of committee members, scope of responsibility for Region Background 2289 
Screening Committees, and background screening criteria. 2290 

 2291 
D. At least three members must meet in order to approve or deny an applicant’s 2292 

background screening, with at least one member being an administrator above a 2293 
supervisor level.  A decision may be based on a simple majority of the voting members.  2294 
The committee may meet by telephone, if necessary. 2295 

 2296 
E. When the applicant lives in a different region than the region with jurisdiction over the 2297 

child, the Region Background Screening Committee where the applicant resides will 2298 
conduct the review.  It is recommended that the caseworker attend the Region 2299 
Background Screening Review by telephone.  A member(s) of the Region Background 2300 
Screening Committee from the region with jurisdiction over the child may also meet by 2301 
telephone, if necessary.  2302 

 2303 
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F. In the event the Region Background Screening Committee has a conflict of interest in 2304 
reviewing an applicant’s history, the background screening review may be referred to 2305 
another region’s Background Screening Review Committee.  2306 

 2307 
G. The TAC/alternate will provide available information to the Region Background 2308 

Screening Committee including summaries of background screening reports and any 2309 
information provided by the applicant.  Information will not be sent electronically.  2310 
Criminal history reports (rap sheets) will not be distributed to committee members. The 2311 
TAC/alternate will maintain a dissemination record to track the names of the persons 2312 
receiving the information (including the caseworker/supervisor if they participate in the 2313 
screening) and will ensure that all copies of criminal history summaries have been 2314 
returned to the TAC at the conclusion of the review. 2315 

 2316 
H. The Region Background Screening Committee will act on a background screening 2317 

application as soon as possible, but no later than 10 business days of receipt of applicant 2318 
information requested for the review, or within 10 days following the time frame 2319 
allowed for the applicant to submit their explanatory information. 2320 

 2321 
I. The Region Background Screening Committee may request additional information from 2322 

the applicant and may defer action on an application until the applicant submits this 2323 
information. 2324 

 2325 
J. The Region Background Screening Committee will not deny a background screening 2326 

application without the region giving the applicant an opportunity to provide 2327 
information regarding the history or findings that are being considered.   2328 

 2329 
K. The Region Background Screening Committee may approve a report without additional 2330 

information from the applicant if the report of history or findings contains sufficient 2331 
information to make a decision about likely threat of harm to a child. 2332 

 2333 
L. The Region Background Screening Committee may deny a background screening 2334 

application in the event that an applicant fails to provide requested information within 2335 
the required time frame. 2336 

 2337 
M. The Region Background Screening Committee will carefully consider the applicant’s 2338 

criminal history and/or child or adult abuse or neglect findings along with any 2339 
information submitted by the applicant to determine if approval of the background 2340 
screening will create a likely threat of harm to a child.   2341 

 2342 
N. The review will consider factors such as: 2343 

1. The date of the offense or incident; 2344 
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2. The nature and seriousness of the offense or incident; 2345 
3. The circumstances under which the offense or incident occurred; 2346 
4. The age of the perpetrator when the offense or incident occurred; 2347 
5. Whether the offense or incident directly relates to abuse of a child or vulnerable 2348 

adult, including: 2349 
a. Actual or threatened non-accidental physical or mental harm; 2350 
b. Sexual abuse; 2351 
c. Sexual exploitation; 2352 
d. Negligent treatment; 2353 

6. Any evidence provided by the person of rehabilitation, counseling, or psychiatric 2354 
treatment received, or additional academic or vocational schooling completed by 2355 
the person, and 2356 

7. Any other pertinent information. 2357 
 2358 

O. Approval or denial will be determined according to standards established in Utah Code 2359 
Ann. §62A-2-120 and Utah Code Ann. §62A-4a-1002.  If the committee denies the 2360 
background screening, the region TAC or Region Background Screening Committee 2361 
Chairperson will send the applicant a Kinship Background Screening Committee denial 2362 
letter. 2363 

 2364 
P. If the applicant’s background has been denied by the Region Background Screening 2365 

Committee, a Region Background Screening Committee denial letter will be sent to the 2366 
applicant either by the Region Background Screening Committee Chairperson, the 2367 
region TAC/alternate, or region-designated person. This notice will not include specific 2368 
reasons for the denial. 2369 

 2370 

504.10 Steps If Background Screening Is Denied After A Child Has Been 2371 

Placed With A Kinship Caregiver/Friend 2372 

 2373 
A. If a child was placed with a kinship caregiver/friend in an approved Preliminary 2374 

Placement, and subsequent background screening of an adult in the home is not 2375 
approved, Child and Family Services will: 2376 
1. Reassess safety based on safety decision-making (see Practice Guidelines Section 2377 

502.4). 2378 
2.  Consult with the AAG and GAL assigned to the case. 2379 
3. Child and Family Services cannot approve ongoing placement of a child in Child 2380 

and Family Services custody with a kinship caregiver/friend that does not meet 2381 
background screening requirements.  2382 

4. Evaluate placement options and time frames in terms of immediate threat of 2383 
harm, placement stability, and long-term view with the Child and Family Team.  2384 
The team will decide if it is in the child’s best interest to transition to another 2385 

http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter2/62A-2-S120.html?v=C62A-2-S120_1800010118000101
http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-S1002.html?v=C62A-4a-S1002_1800010118000101/
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placement or to recommend to the court that custody and guardianship be 2386 
granted to the kinship caregiver.  If the child is placed with a friend that has been 2387 
identified by the parent and the background screening is not approved, the child 2388 
must be moved to a new placement as soon as possible, as the friend will not 2389 
qualify to become a licensed foster parent.  Child and Family Services will not 2390 
recommend that temporary custody and guardianship be granted to a friend.   2391 

5. If custody and guardianship is going to be recommended to the court, educate 2392 
the court on the ramifications of granting custody and guardianship without an 2393 
approved background screening (e.g., the family will not qualify for adoption 2394 
assistance if they later decide to adopt). 2395 
 2396 

B. Prior to the Child and Family Team Meeting and before requesting a court hearing, the 2397 
caseworker will meet with the kinship caregiver to discuss ramifications of taking 2398 
custody and guardianship when background screening was not approved (e.g., will not 2399 
qualify for adoption assistance if they later choose to adopt) so the decision can be 2400 
made with full knowledge of the options. 2401 

 2402 
C. If a decision is made to move the child to another placement, the caseworker will work 2403 

with the kinship caregiver/friend to transition the child to another appropriate 2404 
placement in a time frame consistent with the urgency identified through the safety 2405 
assessment.   2406 

 2407 
 The caseworker will move the child to another placement and provide written notice of 2408 

the change of placement to the court and all parties to the proceedings within three 2409 
days of the removal, excluding weekends and holidays. 2410 

 2411 
D. If the Child and Family Team decides not to recommend that the kinship relative 2412 

caregiver be granted custody and guardianship, the caseworker may inform the kinship 2413 
caregiver of the their option to obtain their own legal counsel to seek temporary 2414 
custody and guardianship of the child from the court on their own.  2415 

 2416 

504.11 Communication Of Background Screening Results And 2417 

Dissemination Of Records 2418 

 2419 

A. Background Screening Results to Child and Family Services Staff:   2420 
1. Expedited Request:   2421 

a. If the caseworker verbally requested expedited background screening for 2422 
a Preliminary Placement and communication of the results is urgent, the 2423 
TAC/alternate may notify the caseworker verbally if the background 2424 
screening is approved, needs further review, is denied, or could not be 2425 
completed based upon the verbal information provided.   2426 
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b. The TAC/alternate will not provide specific details to a caseworker about 2427 
a background screening history that was initiated by a verbal request 2428 
until the TAC/alternate has received the Kinship Background Screening 2429 
Application providing written authorization for the screening and photo 2430 
identification.  However, if dissemination of details is urgent to the 2431 
Preliminary Placement decision, the results may be shared but will be 2432 
considered tentative. 2433 

2. UCJIS Report for Utah Criminal History, Juvenile Criminal History, III History, and 2434 
FBI Reports: 2435 
a. The TAC/alternate may only communicate details contained in a Utah 2436 

criminal history, juvenile criminal history, III history, or FBI report 2437 
obtained through UCJIS or the BCI/ABC Webpage to Child and Family 2438 
Services staff who are authorized to receive the information (such as 2439 
caseworker, supervisor, kinship consultant, or background screening 2440 
committee members who have been trained, tested, and fingerprinted, 2441 
and who have approved access rights through BCI).   2442 

b. Any details shared will only be provided in a summary of the original 2443 
report.   2444 

c. All details can be shared verbally. 2445 
d. A dissemination log can be maintained and a dissemination form can be 2446 

completed to document the name of each person who received the 2447 
information, if dissemination was verbal or written, date, case number, 2448 
and signature of caseworker receiving the information.  However, this is 2449 
not mandatory. 2450 

e. Any information reported prior to the TAC/alternate receiving the 2451 
background screening application, photo identification, and fingerprint-2452 
based report will be considered tentative because positive identification 2453 
of the applicant and record has not occurred through the fingerprinting 2454 
process.  2455 

f. The Utah BCI, juvenile criminal history, III history and FBI reports (rap 2456 
sheets) may not be provided to staff and will not be transmitted 2457 
electronically by fax or email and will not be stored in a case file.  The 2458 
TAC/alternate will ensure that any results printed from the UCJIS 2459 
database or received from an FBI report will be locked in a secure file 2460 
cabinet or will be shredded after being reviewed.  Records will be 2461 
retained for five years. 2462 

3. SAFE Report of Child or Adult Abuse or Neglect:  The TAC/alternate may provide 2463 
the details of background screening reports obtained in SAFE to the Child and 2464 
Family Services caseworker or background screening review committee. 2465 
 2466 

B. Background Screening Results to the Court, Attorney General, and GAL: 2467 
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1. The TAC/alternate may provide a written summary of a Utah criminal history, III 2468 
history,[report ] or FBI report obtained through UCJIS or BCI for the purpose of 2469 
placement of children to the court, Attorney General’s Office, or GAL. 2470 

2. Any information reported prior to TAC/alternate receiving the background 2471 
screening application, photo identification, and fingerprint-based report will be 2472 
considered tentative because positive identification of the applicant and record 2473 
has not occurred through the fingerprinting process. 2474 

3. To disseminate Utah criminal history records to the court, Attorney General’s 2475 
Office, or GAL, the report will be run again in UCJIS using the purpose code X and 2476 
stating the name and title of the judge, AAG, or GAL in the audit field.  This 2477 
serves as a dissemination log for audit purposes. 2478 

4. The TAC/alternate or caseworker may provide the details of background 2479 
screening reports obtained in SAFE to the court, Attorney General’s Office, or 2480 
GAL. 2481 

 2482 
C. Reporting and Records Dissemination for Region Background Screening Committee: 2483 

1. Information in Preparation for Committee Review: 2484 
a. The TAC[/alternate] is responsible to notify the caseworker or designated 2485 

regional kinship [consultant]supervisor that a background screening 2486 
application requires review by the Region Background Screening 2487 
Committee when relevant findings or history of child abuse or criminal 2488 
records are found.  A summary of the background screening reports may 2489 
be provided according to dissemination procedures for staff. 2490 

b. The TAC[/alternate] will send the applicant notice of the review and give 2491 
the applicant the opportunity to provide additional information required 2492 
to complete the review.  The notice will also include information about 2493 
how the applicant may obtain their own criminal history or SAFE report of 2494 
child and adult abuse or neglect findings and steps to take if they believe 2495 
there are errors on the background screening report used by Child and 2496 
Family Services.   2497 

c. The TAC[/alternate] will compile and submit required documentation to 2498 
the Region Background Screening Committee for their review following 2499 
dissemination procedures for staff specified above. 2500 

2. Information Dissemination Following Committee Review: 2501 
a. The Region Background Screening Committee is responsible to notify the 2502 

TAC[/alternate] and caseworker or regional kinship 2503 
[consultant]supervisor of the committee’s decision to approve or deny 2504 
background screening for Preliminary Placement.  Dissemination 2505 
guidelines must be followed for release of specific details of an 2506 
applicant’s criminal history.   2507 
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b. The Region Background Screening Committee will return the original and 2508 
all copies of the application, report summaries, and supporting 2509 
documentation to the TAC[/alternate] to be stored in a locked file or 2510 
destroyed.  The TAC[/alternate] will retain documentation of the 2511 
committee decision with the application and supporting documentation 2512 
for five years. 2513 

c. If the Region Background Screening Committee denies the application, 2514 
the TAC[/alternate] or Region Background Screening Committee 2515 
Chairperson will send a written notice of denial to the applicant.  Specific 2516 
reasons for denial will not be provided. 2517 
 2518 

D. Background Screening Application and Supporting Information for Office of Licensing:   2519 
1. After background screening for Preliminary Placement has been completed and 2520 

fingerprint results received, the TAC/alternate will send the [original] Kinship 2521 
Background Screening Application, [a copy of photo identification and Social 2522 
Security cards or verification of them,]out of state clearances (if applicable), [and 2523 
]supporting documentation (if application), and Live Scan results to the Child and 2524 
Family Services Background Screening Coordinator for submission to the Office 2525 
of Licensing.  The TAC[/alternate] will retain a copy of the information in a locked 2526 
file until the [original]stamped Kinship Background Screening Application is 2527 
returned from the Background Screening Coordinator, who will record transfer 2528 
of the information in the dissemination log.   2529 

2. The TAC[/alternate] will let the caseworker or regional kinship 2530 
[consultant]supervisor know if the Office of Licensing has approved or denied 2531 
the background screening application.  The TAC/alternate will retain the original 2532 
Kinship Background Screening Application.  A copy of the application[, photo 2533 
identification and Social Security card] will be sent to the kinship home study 2534 
caseworker to be retained with the Child-Specific Home Study. 2535 

3. If the kinship caregiver[/friend] applies for a foster care license, a copy of the 2536 
approved background screening application will be submitted to the local 2537 
licensor for the Office of Licensing with the Child-Specific Home Study.   2538 

4. Summaries of background screening reports may be communicated to the 2539 
kinship home study caseworker for consideration of safety as part of the home 2540 
study process following dissemination procedures.  Specific background 2541 
screening details will not be included in the kinship home study report. 2542 

5. Background screening reports and supporting documentation will not be 2543 
submitted to local licensor. 2544 
 2545 

E. Reporting of Background Screening Status and Results to the Applicant:   2546 
1. The caseworker is responsible to keep the applicant informed regarding the 2547 

status of background screening; specifically, if background screening is approved, 2548 
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denied, or requires further review.  However, the caseworker is prohibited from 2549 
reporting details of findings or history to the applicant, in accordance with BCI 2550 
policies.   2551 

2. The caseworker may give the applicant information about how to obtain their 2552 
own criminal history or SAFE report of child or adult abuse or neglect findings. 2553 

3. The TAC/alternate will notify the applicant of the opportunity to provide further 2554 
information if background screening for Preliminary Placement is going to be 2555 
reviewed by the Region Background Screening Committee and will send a 2556 
written notice if denied.  2557 
 2558 
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505  (NO LONGER USED) 2559 

  2560 
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506  Temporary Custody And Guardianship With The Kinship Caregiver 2561 

And Court-Ordered Kinship Support Services [(KSS)] 2562 

 2563 
 2564 
 2565 
 2566 
 2567 
 2568 
 2569 
 2570 
 2571 
 2572 
 2573 
Applicable Law 2574 
Utah Code Ann. §62A-4a-105. Division responsibilities. 2575 
 2576 
Practice Guidelines 2577 
A. Temporary custody to the kinship caregiver and court-ordered kinship support services 2578 

may be recommended to the court when the initial permanency goal is reunification 2579 
and the kinship caregiver has agreed to: 2580 
1. Work with the parent and Child and Family Services to reunify the child with the 2581 

parent. 2582 
2. Cooperate with Child and Family Services, the GAL, the AAG, and other support 2583 

agencies. 2584 
3. Follow all court orders. 2585 
4. Commit to the long-term permanency plan, which may include adoption or 2586 

permanent custody and guardianship of the child by the kinship caregiver. 2587 
5. Resist and report inappropriate and unauthorized requests by the parent for 2588 

access to the child. 2589 
6. Commit to protect and care for the child as long as necessary. 2590 
7. Provide a secure and stable environment for the child. 2591 

 2592 
B. The kinship caregiver needs to have the ability, commitment, and resources to access 2593 

and use the services needed to address the child's developmental, mental health, 2594 
educational, or medical needs. 2595 

 2596 
C. The Child and Family Services caseworker needs to provide the kinship caregiver with 2597 

the following supports and services to meet the child's needs, assist the child's parents, 2598 
and meet the relative's needs as caregivers:  2599 
1. Provide kinship support services for a minimum of six months unless otherwise 2600 

ordered by the court. 2601 

Major objectives: 
The Child and Family Services caseworker may recommend to the court that the child be placed 
in the temporary custody of a kinship caregiver and that Child and Family Services provide a 
comprehensive array of kinship support services [(KSS)] to the child, the kinship caregiver, and 
the parent.  Friends identified by the parents as caregivers for the child and with whom the child 
was placed in a Preliminary Placement but are not licensed foster parents at time the child is 
placed are not eligible for temporary custody and guardianship unless court ordered and [are 
required to]Child and Family Services will recommend that friends become licensed foster 
parents. 

http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-S105.html?v=C62A-4a-S105_2014040320140513
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2. Contact the kinship caregiver within five working days of placement and visit the 2602 
kinship caregiver's home within 10 working days of placement to: 2603 
a. Observe the conditions and circumstances of the kinship caregiver's 2604 

home. 2605 
b. Determine the health, well-being, and safety of the child. 2606 
c. Identify any resource and service needs of the kinship caregiver and the 2607 

child. 2608 
3. Assist in obtaining needed supports and services, which may include day care, 2609 

respite care, transportation, and counseling. 2610 
4. Assist in obtaining any necessary financial and medical assistance for the child 2611 

and the kinship caregiver, within 30 days of placement, which needs to include: 2612 
a. Explanation of the tasks needed for meeting eligibility criteria for specific 2613 

funding sources. 2614 
b. Technical assistance in securing documentation (i.e., Social Security 2615 

cards, birth certificates, legal documents) necessary for completing 2616 
financial applications. 2617 

c. Advocacy for the kinship caregiver with potential funding sources 2618 
throughout the application, interview, and evaluation processes. 2619 

5. Provide an opportunity for input into the service plan and participation in 2620 
ongoing Child and Family Team Meetings. 2621 

6. Thoroughly discuss the reunification services, the permanency plan, and the 2622 
permanency time frames with the kinship caregiver. 2623 

7. Offer and provide training and workshops based on the needs and interests of 2624 
the kinship caregiver. 2625 

8. Conduct a minimum of one visit per month to the home of the kinship caregiver.  2626 
The caseworker may make additional visits if the kinship caregiver needs 2627 
assistance and instruction to deal with the child's special needs or if Child and 2628 
Family Services has reason to believe that the parent may harass or interfere 2629 
with the kinship caregiver and help is needed to cope with the interference. 2630 

9. Assist in establishing a specific visitation plan as part of the service plan between 2631 
the child and the parent and develop the rules that will govern the visits.  Visits 2632 
between the child and the parent will occur a minimum of one time per month.  2633 
If problems arise with visitation, the kinship caregiver can request Child and 2634 
Family Services to be actively involved in establishing visitation guidelines and 2635 
schedules. 2636 

10. Assist in maintaining relationships with other extended family when possible and 2637 
appropriate. 2638 

11. Provide access to a Child and Family Services family resource consultant to 2639 
provide support, respond to questions and solve problems, offer referrals to 2640 
training and workshops, conduct face-to-face quarterly field visits, and provide 2641 
resource consultation. 2642 
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 2643 
D. The Child and Family Services caseworker needs to provide the following services and 2644 

supports to meet the needs of the child and needs to work collaboratively with the 2645 
kinship caregiver to enable the child to receive the needed services: 2646 
1. Assist the kinship caregiver in setting up and attending the child's required 2647 

mental health, dental, and health assessments.  The assessment appointment 2648 
needs to be scheduled within 30 days of placement.  Ongoing treatment 2649 
recommendations will be incorporated into the service plan and monitored by 2650 
the caseworker.  The Child and Family Services caseworker will report to the 2651 
court, the GAL, and the AAG the status of the assessments. 2652 

2. Conduct a minimum of one visit per month with the child (this may occur at the 2653 
same time as the visit with the kinship caregiver).  The Child and Family Services 2654 
caseworker will visit with the child outside the presence of the kinship caregiver 2655 
to help assure that the child has a safe and healthy relationship with the 2656 
caregiver. 2657 

3. Contact an individual other than the kinship caregiver who knows the child and 2658 
who can provide feedback on the child's well-being. 2659 

4. Facilitate contact and visits between the child and the parent unless safety 2660 
concerns exist. 2661 

5. Share information about the parent's activities and progress toward reunification 2662 
or other permanency options. 2663 

6. Prepare the child to return to the parent's care or another permanent 2664 
arrangement including adoption or permanent guardianship by the kinship 2665 
caregiver. 2666 

7. Assist in maintaining relationships with siblings through visits and shared 2667 
activities whenever possible. 2668 

8. Provide an opportunity for input into the service plan, when age appropriate, 2669 
and identify the roles and responsibilities of the child in the service plan. 2670 

9. Advocate for the child in negotiating with other service systems and brokering 2671 
access to resources for the child. 2672 

 2673 
E. The Child and Family Services caseworker needs to provide the following services to 2674 

parents that will support and enhance their functioning as parents: 2675 
1. Involve parents in service planning and thoroughly inform them of their roles 2676 

and responsibilities in the plan (if circumstances warrant, separate plans may be 2677 
developed for each parent). 2678 

2. Invite parents to participate in ongoing Child and Family Team Meetings to 2679 
assess progress in meeting the service plan and the permanency planning goals. 2680 

3. Assist parents in addressing the problems that led to their child's placement in 2681 
kinship care and deliver or provide access to the services needed to remedy 2682 
those problems to achieve reunification. 2683 
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4. Include as part of the service plan a visitation schedule to maintain contact with 2684 
the child that meets the needs of the child, parent, and kinship caregiver in 2685 
consultation with the GAL. 2686 

5. Deliver or provide access to services and resources to prepare the parents for 2687 
reunification or other permanency options for the child. 2688 

 2689 
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507  Periodic Review Of Kinship Placement  2690 

 2691 
 2692 
 2693 
 2694 
 2695 
Applicable Law 2696 
Utah Code Ann. §62A-4a-105. Division responsibilities. 2697 
 2698 
Practice Guidelines 2699 
A. The Child and Family Services caseworker needs to assess the kinship/friend placement 2700 

and the reunification efforts within six months of the placement, unless otherwise 2701 
ordered by the court.  The assessment needs to address the following: 2702 
1. Has the parent made reasonable efforts to comply with the offered reunification 2703 

services and the service plan? 2704 
2. Is the continuation of the placement in the child's best interests by supporting 2705 

the safety, permanency, and well-being of the child? 2706 
3. Can the child and the kinship caregiver/friend maintain a stable relationship and 2707 

function effectively with reduced or increased services from Child and Family 2708 
Services? 2709 

4. Does the child have an ongoing need for financial assistance beyond basic 2710 
maintenance? 2711 

5. Does the child and kinship caregiver/friend require the ongoing services of a 2712 
caseworker? 2713 

6. Can the child's needs be met through the kinship caregiver/friend's use of 2714 
community resources and has the kinship caregiver/friend agreed to access or 2715 
continue to maintain those services? 2716 

 2717 
B. The Child and Family Services caseworker needs to report the findings of the placement 2718 

assessment and make a recommendation to the court as to whether: 2719 
1. The placement with the kinship caregiver/friend continues to be in the best 2720 

interest of the child. 2721 
2. The child should be returned home. 2722 
3. The child should be placed in the custody of Child and Family Services. 2723 

 2724 

507.1  Removal Of A Child From The Home Of A Licensed Relative/Friend 2725 

 2726 
A. When considering the removal of a child from a licensed relative/friend foster parent 2727 

when the relative/friend foster parent is incapable of caring for the child due to the 2728 
relative’s age or health, consultation with the Assistant Attorney General assigned to the 2729 
case is required.   2730 

Major objectives: 
Child and Family Services will periodically re-evaluate the appropriateness of the kinship/friend 
placement in consultation with the Child and Family Team. 

http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-S105.html?v=C62A-4a-S105_2014040320140513
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 2731 
B. Child and Family Services may not remove a child from a relative (as legally defined in 2732 

Utah Code Ann. §78A-6-307 and Indian Child Welfare Act 25 U.S.C. §1901-63), who is a 2733 
licensed foster parent on the basis of the relative’s age or health, unless the following 2734 
criteria are met: 2735 
1. There is clear and convincing evidence that the licensed relative foster parent is 2736 

incapable of caring for the child and the child will be placed with another foster 2737 
parent who is NOT a relative. 2738 

Or  2739 
2. There is a preponderance of the evidence that the licensed relative foster parent 2740 

is incapable of caring for the child and the child will be placed with another 2741 
relative. 2742 

 2743 
C. If a relative/friend who is a licensed foster parent requests that the child be moved to 2744 

another placement, complete the form “Licensed Relative Foster Parent Request for 2745 
Change in Placement of the Child” so there is no question regarding why the placement 2746 
change was made. 2747 

 2748 

http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title78A/Chapter6/78A-6-S307.html
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508  Statutory Timelines For Establishing Permanency  2749 

 2750 
(Refer to Practice Guidelines Section 301.2.) 2751 
 2752 

http://hspolicy.utah.gov/files/dcfs/DCFS%20Practice%20Guidelines/300-%20Out-of-Home%20Services.pdf
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509  Preparing Kin For Permanency Plan 2753 

 2754 
 2755 
 2756 
 2757 
Applicable Law 2758 
Utah Code Ann. §62A-4a-105. Division responsibilities. 2759 
 2760 
Practice Guidelines 2761 
A. In order to recommend the most appropriate[ final] permanency plan for the child, the 2762 

Child and Family Services caseworker needs to ensure the following issues are 2763 
addressed: 2764 
1. If reunification with the parent is recommended: 2765 

a. Conditions, circumstances, or risks that resulted in removal of the child 2766 
have been sufficiently reduced. 2767 

b. Reunification with the parent is in the best interest of the child. 2768 
c. Substantial efforts to comply with the service plan have been made by 2769 

the parent. 2770 
d. A transition plan for the child's safe return home includes follow-up 2771 

supervision, services to the child, and services to the parent. 2772 
2. If permanent custody and guardianship with the kinship caregiver/licensed 2773 

friend is recommended: 2774 
a. Reasonable efforts to reunify the child and parent were not successful or 2775 

were not ordered by the court. 2776 
b. Permanent custody and guardianship is in the best interest of the child 2777 

and is preferable to other permanency options. 2778 
c. The kinship caregiver/licensed friend is informed of the child's special 2779 

needs and the circumstances of the child's removal. 2780 
d. The child and the kinship caregiver/licensed friend can maintain a stable, 2781 

safe, and nurturing relationship. 2782 
e. The child’s needs can be met through the kinship caregiver/licensed 2783 

friend 's use of community resources. 2784 
f. The kinship caregiver/licensed friend has been informed that they may 2785 

contact the Child and Family Services family resource consultant at any 2786 
time in the future if services or supports are needed for themselves or 2787 
the child. 2788 

g. The parent has been informed of the child support obligation they will be 2789 
required to provide if the kinship caregiver continues to receive a TANF 2790 
Specified Relative payment. 2791 

3. If termination of parental rights and adoption are recommended:  2792 
a. Facts and circumstances support termination. 2793 

Major objectives: 
Child and Family Services will adequately prepare the child’s kin for a permanency plan. 

http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-S105.html?v=C62A-4a-S105_2014040320140513
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b. Reasonable efforts to reunify the child and the parent were unsuccessful 2794 
or were not ordered by the court. 2795 

c. ICWA requirements have been met for an Indian child. 2796 
d. Attitudes and wishes of the child regarding adoption and termination of 2797 

parental rights have been considered.        2798 
 2799 
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510  Temporary Custody And Guardianship With Child And Family 2800 

Services And Licensed Kinship Foster Care [(KFC)] 2801 

 2802 
 2803 
 2804 
 2805 
 2806 
 2807 
 2808 
 2809 
Applicable Law 2810 
Utah Code Ann. §62A-4a-105. Division responsibilities. 2811 
 2812 
Practice Guidelines 2813 
A. The Child and Family Services caseworker will adhere to out-of-home procedures and 2814 

Practice Guidelines when a child is placed in kinship foster care.  The Child and Family 2815 
Services caseworker needs to provide the kinship caregiver/friend with the following 2816 
supports and services to meet the child's needs, assist the child's parents, and meet the 2817 
kinship caregiver/friend's needs: 2818 
1. Assist in obtaining needed supports and services, which may include day care, 2819 

respite care, transportation, and counseling. 2820 
2. Access to a family resource consultant to provide support, respond to questions 2821 

and solve problems, offer referrals to training and workshops, conduct face-to-2822 
face quarterly field visits, and provide resource consultation. 2823 

3. Conduct additional visits to the home of the kinship caregiver/friend if the 2824 
kinship caregiver/friend needs assistance and instruction to deal with the child's 2825 
special needs, or if Child and Family Services has reason to believe that the 2826 
parent may harass or interfere with the kinship caregiver/friend and help is 2827 
needed to cope with the interference. 2828 

4. Assist in establishing a specific visitation plan between the child and the parent 2829 
and develop rules that will govern the visits.  If problems arise with visitation, the 2830 
kinship caregiver/friend can request Child and Family Services to be actively 2831 
involved in establishing visitation guidelines and schedules. 2832 

 2833 
B. In order to assist the kinship caregiver/friend to become a licensed foster home, the 2834 

Child and Family Services caseworker needs to: 2835 
1. Provide follow-up assistance and advocacy until the kinship caregiver/friend 2836 

receives foster parent licensure. 2837 
2. Forward to the Office of Licensing a copy of the completed Kinship Home Study 2838 

and the results of the criminal background check on the kinship caregiver/friend 2839 
and all members of the household over the age of 18 years. 2840 

Major objectives: 
The Child and Family Services caseworker may recommend to the court that temporary custody 
of the child be ordered to Child and Family Services, the child be placed in the home of a kinship 
caregiver/friend, the identified kinship caregiver/friend becomes a licensed foster care provider, 
and Child and Family Services provides out-of-home care services [(KFC)]. 

http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-S105.html?v=C62A-4a-S105_2014040320140513
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3. Offer services and supports, as appropriate, to assist the kinship caregiver/friend 2841 
in adapting the home to meet licensing standards and the needs of the child. 2842 

 2843 
C. Placement recorded in SAFE:  When a child is receiving court-ordered In-Home Services 2844 

(PSS) and has been placed in the home of a non-custodial parent or kinship 2845 
caregiver/friend, the kinship placement needs to be recorded in SAFE.  The role of Kin 2846 
Caregiver will be recorded as KR.  The role of Kin Child will be recorded as KC.  2847 
Placement with a non-custodial parent will be coded as NCP.  Placement with a kinship 2848 
caregiver/friend will be coded as BHR. 2849 
 2850 
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511  Permanent Custody With The Relative  2851 

 2852 
 2853 
 2854 
 2855 
 2856 
 2857 
 2858 
Applicable Law 2859 
Utah Code Ann. §62A-4a-105. Division responsibilities. 2860 
 2861 
Practice Guidelines 2862 
The Child and Family Services caseworker needs to do the following: 2863 
 2864 
A. Contact the relative within five working days of the permanency order to:  2865 

1. Outline all possible financial and medical resources available for the child and 2866 
family, discuss the financial impact to selecting certain financial supports, and 2867 
provide technical assistance in securing the documentation necessary for 2868 
completing financial applications. 2869 

2. Provide information on available community resources including educational, 2870 
recreational, and medical services that could assist the child and the relative 2871 
family. 2872 

 2873 
B. Assist the family with voluntary in-home services if requested by the kinship caregiver. 2874 
 2875 
C. Inform the relative that they may contact the Child and Family Services family resource 2876 

consultant at any time in the future if services or supports are needed for themselves or 2877 
the child. 2878 

 2879 

Major objectives: 
When, at the shelter hearing or subsequent hearing, the court orders permanent custody and 
guardianship of the child to the relative and the child is no longer under the jurisdiction of the 
court, the Child and Family Services caseworker needs to contact the relative to explain 
available services. 

http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-S105.html?v=C62A-4a-S105_2014040320140513
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512  Preparing Kin For Permanency Decision 2880 

 2881 

 2882 
 2883 
 2884 
 2885 
Applicable Law 2886 
Utah Code Ann. §62A-4a-105. Division responsibilities. 2887 
 2888 
Practice Guidelines 2889 
A. At the permanency hearing, the Child and Family Services caseworker may recommend 2890 

the following permanency options: 2891 
1. Reunification with parents. 2892 
2. Permanent custody and guardianship with the kinship caregiver/licensed friend. 2893 
3. Adoption by the kinship caregiver/friend. 2894 
4. Non-related adoption. 2895 
5. Transition to independence. 2896 
6. Long-term kinship care. 2897 

 2898 
B. If long-term kinship care is recommended, the Child and Family Services caseworker 2899 

needs to ensure the following issues are addressed: 2900 
1. Reasonable efforts to reunify the child and parent were not successful. 2901 
2. Long-term kinship care is in the child's best interest, provides stability and 2902 

permanency, and is preferable to all other permanency options. 2903 
3. Compelling reasons to not proceed with termination or permanent custody and 2904 

guardianship have been documented on a case-by-case basis. The following 2905 
examples may warrant not recommending a permanent home for the child: 2906 
a. A child's Indian tribe is opposed to termination of parental rights and has 2907 

determined the child needs to remain with the kinship caregiver. 2908 
b. A child has complex and expensive mental health, medical, or 2909 

developmental needs and the kinship caregiver/friend's benefits and 2910 
resources are insufficient to reliably cover the costs of the child's present 2911 
or anticipated care and treatment. 2912 

c. A teenager is opposed to termination of parental rights and adoption. 2913 
d. Services identified in the case plan were not provided in a timely fashion. 2914 
e. The parents have made substantial progress in eliminating the problems 2915 

causing the child's continued placement, and it is likely that the child will 2916 
be able to return home safely within several months. 2917 

 2918 

Major objectives: 
The Child and Family Services caseworker will make reasonable efforts to adequately prepare 
kin/friend for permanency hearings and decisions. 

http://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title62A/Chapter4A/62A-4a-S105.html?v=C62A-4a-S105_2014040320140513

